Alabama · Human Resources Management and Services

Best colleges for Human Resources Management and Services in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

Faulkner University, Troy University and University of Alabama at Birmingham award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in Alabama: 44, 41 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Alabama colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services and award 425 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 52.10
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
425
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$44,130
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,923
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
49%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Human Resources Managers
$125,490
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree
$45,3432564%—$27,000
2Faulkner University
Montgomery Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$40,7644437%$25,801$33,124
3Columbia Southern University
Orange Beach Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online
$53,84324333%$15,554$31,715
4Athens State University
Athens Public · Bachelor's degree Degree completion
$44,13035——$31,130

Colleges awarding the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in Alabama

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Faulkner University
Montgomery Private not-for-profit
44$40,764
2Troy University
Troy Public
41Not reported
3University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
25$45,343
4Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public
7Not reported
5University of North Alabama
Florence Public
6Not reported
6Oakwood University
Huntsville Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
7University of Alabama in Huntsville
Huntsville Public
1Not reported
8University of Mobile
Mobile Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 4 Alabama colleges offering Human Resources Management and Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Columbia Southern University (Online)Orange BeachPrivate for-profit243
Athens State University (Degree completion)AthensPublic35
Amridge University (Online)MontgomeryPrivate not-for-profit10
Strayer University - Alabama (Online)BirminghamPrivate for-profit9

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Human Resources Managers (SOC 11-3121).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.0%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~17,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,030
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Human Resources Managers earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
2,160
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$125,490
median $113,210
Best-paying metro
$139,450
Birmingham, AL

Related careers

Human Resources Specialists
$72,590 avg · 11,080 jobs
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$59,540 avg · 4,410 jobs
Compliance Officers
$78,330 avg · 3,770 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$71,050 avg · 3,000 jobs
Human Resources Managers
$125,490 avg · 2,160 jobs
Business Teachers, Postsecondary
$103,170 avg · 1,260 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Resources Management and Services programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees?+

Faulkner University (44 graduates a year), Troy University (41 graduates a year) and University of Alabama at Birmingham (25 graduates a year) award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Alabama colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services.

Which Human Resources Management and Services program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Alabama at Birmingham tops the list at $45,343. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Human Resources Managers earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Human Resources Managers in Alabama is $125,490 (median $113,210), across about 2,160 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Resources Management and Services program?+

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Human Resources Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +5.0% growth with around 17,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Human Resources Management and Services in other statesRhode IslandIdahoColoradoUtahDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaVirginiaMaryland

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card