Alabama · Business Operations Support and Assistant Services

Best colleges for Business Operations Support and Assistant Services in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

Shelton State Community College, George C Wallace Community College - Dothan and Gadsden State Community College award the most Business Operations Support and Assistant Services degrees and certificates in Alabama: 143, 70 and 52 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Alabama colleges offer Business Operations Support and Assistant Services and award 550 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Business Operations Support and Assistant Services program prepares students for various roles in business administration and support. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to enhance their organizational and administrative…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 52.04
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
550
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$25,182
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,803
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants
$72,100
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public · Associate degree
$26,1517035%——
2Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public · Associate degree
$22,3605238%——
3Jefferson State Community College
Birmingham Public · Associate degree
$25,6482826%——
4Bevill State Community College
Jasper Public · Associate degree Small program
$25,1821138%——
5Lurleen B Wallace Community College
Andalusia Public · Associate degree Small program
$20,2521641%——

Colleges awarding the most Business Operations Support and Assistant Services degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Shelton State Community College
Tuscaloosa Public
143Not reported
2George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public
70$26,151
3Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public
52$22,360
4Coastal Alabama Community College
Bay Minette Public
24Not reported
5Central Alabama Community College
Alexander City Public
19Not reported
6Lurleen B Wallace Community College
Andalusia Public
16$20,252
7Northwest Shoals Community College
Muscle Shoals Public
16Not reported
8Snead State Community College
Boaz Public
16Not reported
9George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
15Not reported
10Northeast Alabama Community College
Rainsville Public
12Not reported
Show the other 10 Alabama colleges offering Business Operations Support and Assistant Services

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants (SOC 43-6011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.6%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~50,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$74,260
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingWritingCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
2,880
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$72,100
median $69,450
Best-paying metro
$78,060
Birmingham, AL

Related careers

Secretaries and Administrative Assistants, Except Legal, Medical, and Executive
$43,060 avg · 45,050 jobs
Customer Service Representatives
$41,290 avg · 33,290 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Office and Administrative Support Workers
$64,050 avg · 20,140 jobs
Office Clerks, General
$33,370 avg · 13,130 jobs
Receptionists and Information Clerks
$32,560 avg · 10,460 jobs
Business Operations Specialists, All Other
$106,330 avg · 6,990 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Business Operations Support and Assistant Services programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Business Operations Support and Assistant Services degrees?+

Shelton State Community College (143 graduates a year), George C Wallace Community College - Dothan (70 graduates a year) and Gadsden State Community College (52 graduates a year) award the most Business Operations Support and Assistant Services degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Alabama colleges offer Business Operations Support and Assistant Services.

Which Business Operations Support and Assistant Services program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, George C Wallace Community College - Dothan tops the list at $26,151. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants in Alabama is $72,100 (median $69,450), across about 2,880 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Business Operations Support and Assistant Services program?+

The Business Operations Support and Assistant Services program prepares students for various roles in business administration and support. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to enhance their organizational and administrative…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Executive Secretaries and Executive Administrative Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about -1.6% growth with around 50,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Business Operations Support and Assistant Services in other statesNebraskaMichiganAlaskaWisconsinVirginiaUtahMinnesotaNew York

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card