Alabama · Culinary Arts and Related Services

Best colleges for Culinary Arts and Related Services in Alabama

Ranked by graduates a year

George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville, Shelton State Community College and Bishop State Community College award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Alabama: 42, 26 and 9 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Alabama colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services and award 143 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…

Institutions
5
offering CIP 12.05
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
143
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
32%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers
$40,620
BLS OEWS May 2025

5 institutions offering Culinary Arts and Related Services in Alabama

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1H Councill Trenholm State Community College
Montgomery Public
—4716%——
2George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
—4251%——
3Shelton State Community College
Tuscaloosa Public
—2630%——
4Lawson State Community College
Birmingham Public
—1927%——
5Bishop State Community College
Mobile Public
—936%——

Colleges awarding the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees in Alabama

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
42Not reported
2Shelton State Community College
Tuscaloosa Public
26Not reported
3Bishop State Community College
Mobile Public
9Not reported
Show the other 2 Alabama colleges offering Culinary Arts and Related Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
H Councill Trenholm State Community CollegeMontgomeryPublic47
Lawson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic19

Career outlook

What this program leads to: First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers (SOC 35-1012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+14.9%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~250,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$36,830
typically No formal educational credential

Top skills

Critical ThinkingMonitoringSpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionActive Learning

What First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
19,180
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$40,620
median $37,110
Best-paying metro
$43,370
Daphne-Fairhope-Foley, AL

Related careers

First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers
$40,620 avg · 19,180 jobs
Cooks, Restaurant
$33,000 avg · 16,260 jobs
Cooks, Institution and Cafeteria
$27,870 avg · 8,780 jobs
Bartenders
$32,220 avg · 6,560 jobs
Food Service Managers
$69,200 avg · 4,330 jobs
Butchers and Meat Cutters
$37,130 avg · 2,350 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Culinary Arts and Related Services programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees?+

George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville (42 graduates a year), Shelton State Community College (26 graduates a year) and Bishop State Community College (9 graduates a year) award the most Culinary Arts and Related Services degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Alabama colleges offer Culinary Arts and Related Services.

How much do First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers in Alabama is $40,620 (median $37,110), across about 19,180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Culinary Arts and Related Services program?+

The Culinary Arts and Related Services program prepares students for a variety of careers in the culinary field, focusing on essential cooking techniques and management skills. This program is ideal for those passionate about food and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, monitoring, speaking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for First-Line Supervisors of Food Preparation and Serving Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +14.9% growth with around 250,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A No formal educational credential is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Culinary Arts and Related Services in other statesKansasNebraskaOhioNew HampshireWisconsinMinnesotaUtahWyoming

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card