Wisconsin · Sports

Best colleges for Sports in Wisconsin

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Wisconsin-Platteville, Carthage College and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee are the top bachelor's Sports programs in Wisconsin by graduate earnings. University of Wisconsin-Platteville leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,027, College Scorecard. University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and Carroll University award the most Sports degrees in Wisconsin: 282, 262 and 113 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Wisconsin colleges offer Sports and award 1,183 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
24
offering CIP 31.05
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,183
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,333
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
12
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,627
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$65,570
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Platteville Public · Bachelor's degree
$46,0273856%—$27,000
2Carthage College
Kenosha Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$36,6384464%$22,844$27,000
3University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,0666649%—$26,000
4Carroll University
Waukesha Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$33,33311371%$22,601$27,000
5University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Eau Claire Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,8016564%—$23,375
6University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
La Crosse Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,99326271%—$23,250
7University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Kenosha Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,6555740%—$25,349
8University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,86628290%—$26,000
9Ripon College
Ripon Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$29,7682563%$19,267$27,000
10Lakeland University
Plymouth Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,4271642%$20,767$24,225

Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in Wisconsin

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison Public
282$29,866
2University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
La Crosse Public
262$30,993
3Carroll University
Waukesha Private not-for-profit
113$33,333
4University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public
66$34,066
5University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Eau Claire Public
65$32,801
6University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Whitewater Public
63Not reported
7University of Wisconsin-Parkside
Kenosha Public
57$30,655
8Carthage College
Kenosha Private not-for-profit
44$36,638
9University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Platteville Public
38$46,027
10Wisconsin Lutheran College
Milwaukee Private not-for-profit
35Not reported
Show the other 14 Wisconsin colleges offering Sports
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Ripon CollegeRiponPrivate not-for-profit25
University of Wisconsin-OshkoshOshkoshPublic23
Concordia University - WisconsinMequonPrivate not-for-profit17
Marian UniversityFond Du LacPrivate not-for-profit17
Lakeland UniversityPlymouthPrivate not-for-profit16
University of Wisconsin-River FallsRiver FallsPublic16
Madison Area Technical CollegeMadisonPublic10
Marquette UniversityMilwaukeePrivate not-for-profit8
Moraine Park Technical CollegeFond du LacPublic7
University of Wisconsin-Stevens PointStevens PointPublic6
Viterbo UniversityLa CrossePrivate not-for-profit5
Edgewood UniversityMadisonPrivate not-for-profit4
Maranatha Baptist UniversityWatertownPrivate not-for-profit2
Mount Mary UniversityMilwaukeePrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in Wisconsin

Jobs in Wisconsin
340
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$65,570
median $63,210
Best-paying metro
$67,230
Madison, WI

Related careers

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$44,300 avg · 6,330 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$56,450 avg · 5,480 jobs
Athletic Trainers
$65,870 avg · 620 jobs
Exercise Physiologists
$65,570 avg · 340 jobs
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling
$93,690 avg · 170 jobs
Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary
$79,750 avg · 40 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sports programs in Wisconsin.

Which Wisconsin colleges award the most Sports degrees?+

University of Wisconsin-Madison (282 graduates a year), University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (262 graduates a year) and Carroll University (113 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in Wisconsin, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Wisconsin colleges offer Sports.

What is the best college for Sports in Wisconsin?+

By graduate earnings, University of Wisconsin-Platteville leads among bachelor's Sports programs in Wisconsin, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,027, College Scorecard. Carthage College and University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee follow. By degrees awarded, University of Wisconsin-Madison is the largest, with 282 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Sports program in Wisconsin has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Wisconsin-Platteville tops the list at $46,027. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in Wisconsin?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in Wisconsin is $65,570 (median $63,210), across about 340 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Sports program?+

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in WisconsinParksParksOutdoor EducationParks

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card