Best colleges for Sports in West Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
Fairmont State University, West Virginia University and Glenville State University are the top bachelor's Sports programs in West Virginia by graduate earnings. Fairmont State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $30,833, College Scorecard. West Virginia University, Marshall University and Fairmont State University award the most Sports degrees in West Virginia: 169, 54 and 40 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 West Virginia colleges offer Sports and award 1,131 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fairmont State University Fairmont Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,833 | 40 | 44% | — | $22,000 |
| 2 | West Virginia University Morgantown Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,145 | 169 | 65% | — | $25,000 |
| 3 | Glenville State University Glenville Public · Bachelor's degree | $25,138 | 21 | 34% | — | $29,072 |
| 4 | Marshall University Huntington Public · Bachelor's degree | $20,682 | 54 | 51% | — | $24,000 |
| 5 | American Public University System Charles Town Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online | $51,381 | 688 | 57% | $10,199 | $19,312 |
| 6 | West Virginia Wesleyan College Buckhannon Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $24,526 | 16 | 57% | $17,325 | $27,000 |
| 7 | West Liberty University West Liberty Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $24,139 | 17 | 60% | — | $28,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in West Virginia
Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Virginia University Morgantown Public | 169 | $30,145 |
| 2 | Marshall University Huntington Public | 54 | $20,682 |
| 3 | Fairmont State University Fairmont Public | 40 | $30,833 |
| 4 | West Virginia State University Institute Public | 40 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Charleston Charleston Private not-for-profit | 39 | Not reported |
| 6 | Davis & Elkins College Elkins Private not-for-profit | 23 | Not reported |
| 7 | Glenville State University Glenville Public | 21 | $25,138 |
| 8 | West Liberty University West Liberty Public | 17 | $24,139 |
| 9 | West Virginia Wesleyan College Buckhannon Private not-for-profit | 16 | $24,526 |
ShowHide the other 3 West Virginia colleges offering Sports
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Public University System (Online) | Charles Town | Private for-profit | 688 |
| Wheeling University | Wheeling | Private not-for-profit | 15 |
| Salem University | Salem | Private for-profit | 9 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).
Top skills
What Exercise Physiologists earn in West Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Sports programs in West Virginia.
Which West Virginia colleges award the most Sports degrees?+
West Virginia University (169 graduates a year), Marshall University (54 graduates a year) and Fairmont State University (40 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in West Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 West Virginia colleges offer Sports.
What is the best college for Sports in West Virginia?+
By graduate earnings, Fairmont State University leads among bachelor's Sports programs in West Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $30,833, College Scorecard. West Virginia University and Glenville State University follow. By degrees awarded, West Virginia University is the largest, with 169 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Sports program in West Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Fairmont State University tops the list at $30,833. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in West Virginia?+
The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in West Virginia is $56,420 (median $50,270), across about 60 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Sports program?+
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+
The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card