Best colleges for Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in Washington
Ranked by graduates a year
Eastern Washington University, Western Washington University and Gonzaga University award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Washington: 23, 12 and 6 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Washington colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language and award 57 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
7 institutions offering Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in Washington
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public | — | 23 | 43% | — | — |
| 2 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public | — | 12 | 65% | — | $15,000 |
| 3 | City University of Seattle Seattle Private not-for-profit Online | — | 9 | — | $35,049 | — |
| 4 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit | — | 6 | 86% | $30,006 | — |
| 5 | Washington State University Pullman Public | — | 5 | 60% | — | — |
| 6 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public | — | 1 | 85% | — | — |
| 7 | Great Northern University Spokane Private not-for-profit | — | 1 | 50% | $31,680 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees in Washington
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public | 23 | Not reported |
| 2 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 3 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
| 4 | Washington State University Pullman Public | 5 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Washington-Seattle Campus Seattle Public | 1 | Not reported |
| 6 | Great Northern University Spokane Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Washington colleges offering Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| City University of Seattle (Online) | Seattle | Private not-for-profit | 9 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors (SOC 25-3011).
Top skills
What Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Washington
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language programs in Washington.
Which Washington colleges award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees?+
Eastern Washington University (23 graduates a year), Western Washington University (12 graduates a year) and Gonzaga University (6 graduates a year) award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Washington colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.
How much do Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in Washington?+
The average annual wage for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors in Washington is $71,640 (median $69,990), across about 1,310 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program?+
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, learning strategies, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors?+
The national job outlook is about -13.7% growth with around 3,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card