Best colleges for Sports in Washington
Ranked by graduate earnings
Central Washington University, Pacific Lutheran University and Washington State University are the top bachelor's Sports programs in Washington by graduate earnings. Central Washington University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,268, College Scorecard. Central Washington University, Washington State University and Gonzaga University award the most Sports degrees in Washington: 113, 82 and 71 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Washington colleges offer Sports and award 500 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Washington University Ellensburg Public · Bachelor's degree | $35,268 | 113 | 54% | — | $17,848 |
| 2 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $33,449 | 47 | 69% | $19,944 | $25,536 |
| 3 | Washington State University Pullman Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,815 | 82 | 60% | — | $20,981 |
| 4 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public · Bachelor's degree | $29,268 | 57 | 65% | — | $19,487 |
| 5 | Seattle Pacific University Seattle Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $25,625 | 2 | 62% | $24,653 | $26,988 |
| 6 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $22,260 | 17 | 68% | $35,057 | $21,646 |
Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in Washington
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Central Washington University Ellensburg Public | 113 | $35,268 |
| 2 | Washington State University Pullman Public | 82 | $30,815 |
| 3 | Gonzaga University Spokane Private not-for-profit | 71 | Not reported |
| 4 | Western Washington University Bellingham Public | 57 | $29,268 |
| 5 | Pacific Lutheran University Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 47 | $33,449 |
| 6 | Eastern Washington University Cheney Public | 34 | Not reported |
| 7 | Saint Martin's University Lacey Private not-for-profit | 24 | Not reported |
| 8 | Pierce College District Lakewood Public | 23 | Not reported |
| 9 | University of Puget Sound Tacoma Private not-for-profit | 17 | $22,260 |
| 10 | Bellevue College Bellevue Public | 13 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 3 Washington colleges offering Sports
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whitworth University | Spokane | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Walla Walla University | College Place | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Seattle Pacific University | Seattle | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).
Top skills
What Exercise Physiologists earn in Washington
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Sports programs in Washington.
Which Washington colleges award the most Sports degrees?+
Central Washington University (113 graduates a year), Washington State University (82 graduates a year) and Gonzaga University (71 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in Washington, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Washington colleges offer Sports.
What is the best college for Sports in Washington?+
By graduate earnings, Central Washington University leads among bachelor's Sports programs in Washington, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,268, College Scorecard. Pacific Lutheran University and Washington State University follow. By degrees awarded, Central Washington University is the largest, with 113 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Sports program in Washington has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Central Washington University tops the list at $35,268. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in Washington?+
The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in Washington is $81,870 (median $81,310), across about 160 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Sports program?+
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+
The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card