Virginia · Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education

Best colleges for Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education in Virginia

Ranked by graduates a year

Eastern Mennonite University and George Mason University award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees and certificates in Virginia: 24 and 5 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Virginia colleges offer Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education and award 29 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program explores the theoretical and practical aspects of education through various lenses, including philosophy, sociology, and psychology. This program is designed for individuals…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 13.09
States offered
31
with a program page
Degrees / yr
29
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,933
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
68%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,190
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education in Virginia

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Eastern Mennonite University
Harrisonburg Private not-for-profit
—2467%$21,933—
2George Mason University
Fairfax Public
—568%——

Colleges awarding the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees in Virginia

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Eastern Mennonite University
Harrisonburg Private not-for-profit
24Not reported
2George Mason University
Fairfax Public
5Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Education Teachers, Postsecondary (SOC 25-1081).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$72,090
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningLearning StrategiesActive LearningWriting

What Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
1,630
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$81,190
median $77,060
Best-paying metro
$76,720
Richmond, VA

Related careers

Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,190 avg · 1,630 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees?+

Eastern Mennonite University (24 graduates a year) and George Mason University (5 graduates a year) award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Virginia colleges offer Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.

How much do Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Education Teachers, Postsecondary in Virginia is $81,190 (median $77,060), across about 1,630 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program?+

The Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program explores the theoretical and practical aspects of education through various lenses, including philosophy, sociology, and psychology. This program is designed for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, reading comprehension, active listening, learning strategies, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Education Teachers, Postsecondary?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 5,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education in other statesPennsylvaniaCaliforniaArizonaArkansasColoradoConnecticutFloridaGeorgia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card