California · Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education

Best colleges for Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of California-Riverside, University of California-Los Angeles and University of California-Santa Cruz award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees and certificates in California: 207, 105 and 100 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 California colleges offer Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education and award 491 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program explores the theoretical and practical aspects of education through various lenses, including philosophy, sociology, and psychology. This program is designed for individuals…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 13.09
States offered
31
with a program page
Degrees / yr
491
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$23,447
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$32,826
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
67%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$113,870
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of California-Riverside
Riverside Public · Bachelor's degree
$23,44720776%—$15,000

Colleges awarding the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees in California

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of California-Riverside
Riverside Public
207$23,447
2University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public
105Not reported
3University of California-Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Public
100Not reported
4Hope International University
Fullerton Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
5San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public
14Not reported
6California State University - Long Beach
Long Beach Public
13Not reported
7California State University - Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public
12Not reported
8University of the Pacific
Stockton Private not-for-profit
9Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Education Teachers, Postsecondary (SOC 25-1081).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$72,090
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningLearning StrategiesActive LearningWriting

What Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in California

Jobs in California
3,100
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$113,870
median $111,850
Best-paying metro
$130,400
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA

Related careers

Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$113,870 avg · 3,100 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees?+

University of California-Riverside (207 graduates a year), University of California-Los Angeles (105 graduates a year) and University of California-Santa Cruz (100 graduates a year) award the most Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education degrees and certificates in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 California colleges offer Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.

Which Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of California-Riverside tops the list at $23,447. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Education Teachers, Postsecondary earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Education Teachers, Postsecondary in California is $113,870 (median $111,850), across about 3,100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program?+

The Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education program explores the theoretical and practical aspects of education through various lenses, including philosophy, sociology, and psychology. This program is designed for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, reading comprehension, active listening, learning strategies, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Education Teachers, Postsecondary?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 5,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education in other statesPennsylvaniaArizonaArkansasColoradoConnecticutFloridaGeorgiaHawaii

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card