By state·Federal data profiles·IPEDS · College Scorecard

Colleges and universities in Virginia

Virginia is home to 144 Title IV-eligible colleges and universities, enrolling about 578,902 students in total.

Of these, 44 are public and 100 private. The largest by enrollment include Liberty, NVCC, and George Mason. Among institutions that report the figure, the median graduation rate is 54% and the median average net price is $19,066.

Institutions
144
indexed
Combined enrollment
578,902
students
Median grad rate
54%
reporting
Median net price
$19,066
reporting
Need a custom view?
Ask Clema
Sector snapshot

How the 144 institutions in Virginia break down

Control and level come from IPEDS institutional characteristics. Pick a tile to see just that slice of the list.

3 institutions have no reported level in IPEDS; they stay in the full list but not in the level slices.

144 institutions

Page 2 of 3
Private (for-profit)

Empire Beauty School - Midlothian

Midlothian, Virginia

Grad rate
44%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
125
Net price
$24,203
View data
Private (for-profit)

Empire Beauty School - Newport News

Newport News, Virginia

Grad rate
50%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
92
Net price
$23,036
View data
Private (for-profit)

Empire Beauty School - Richmond

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
39%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
77
Net price
$23,488
View data
Private (for-profit)

Empire Beauty School - Virginia Beach

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Grad rate
37%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
163
Net price
$23,554
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Ferrum College

Ferrum, Virginia

Grad rate
32%
Admit rate
89.0%
Enrollment
763
Net price
$20,082
View data
Special Focus Two-Year: Health ProfessionsPrivate (for-profit)

Fortis College - Norfolk

Norfolk, Virginia

Grad rate
30%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
399
Net price
$24,764
View data
Special Focus Two-Year: Health ProfessionsPrivate (for-profit)

Fortis College - Richmond

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
50%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
502
Net price
$24,635
View data
Private (for-profit)

Galen Health Institutes - Richmond

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
Too new
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
454
Net price
$23,843
View data
Private (for-profit)

Galen Health Institutes - Roanoke

Roanoke, Virginia

Grad rate
Too new
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
315
Net price
$26,945
View data
R1 ResearchPublic

George Mason University

Fairfax, Virginia

Grad rate
68%
Admit rate
87.5%
Enrollment
39,766
Net price
$17,915
View data
Community CollegePublic

Germanna Community College

Locust Grove, Virginia

Grad rate
46%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
8,544
Net price
$5,541
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Hampden - Sydney College

Hampden-Sydney, Virginia

Grad rate
62%
Admit rate
40.9%
Enrollment
946
Net price
$22,400
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPrivate (nonprofit)HBCU

Hampton University

Hampton, Virginia

Grad rate
57%
Admit rate
62.3%
Enrollment
4,244
Net price
$25,319
View data
Public

Henrico County - Saint Marys Hospital School of Practical Nursing

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
No freshman cohort
Admit rate
70.4%
Enrollment
124
Net price
No freshman cohort
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Hollins University

Roanoke, Virginia

Grad rate
65%
Admit rate
68.0%
Enrollment
761
Net price
$20,896
View data
Private (for-profit)

Institute of Advanced Medical Esthetics

Ashland, Virginia

Grad rate
100%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
7
Net price
$10,219
View data
Community CollegePublic

J Sargeant Reynolds Community College

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
32%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
8,681
Net price
$5,168
View data
R2 ResearchPublic

James Madison University

Harrisonburg, Virginia

Grad rate
80%
Admit rate
71.5%
Enrollment
22,740
Net price
$23,322
View data
Private (for-profit)

Jazz Barber and Hairstyling Academy

Petersburg, Virginia

Grad rate
67%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
46
Net price
$14,175
View data
Community CollegePublic

Laurel Ridge Community College

Middletown, Virginia

Grad rate
45%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
5,902
Net price
$6,013
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPrivate (nonprofit)

Liberty University

Lynchburg, Virginia

Grad rate
65%
Admit rate
99.0%
Enrollment
104,327
Net price
$29,357
View data
Masters Colleges & Universities: Medium ProgramsPublic

Longwood University

Farmville, Virginia

Grad rate
61%
Admit rate
90.2%
Enrollment
4,612
Net price
$19,066
View data
Private (for-profit)

Lotus Professional College

Richmond, Virginia

Grad rate
No freshman cohort
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
178
Net price
No freshman cohort
View data
Private (for-profit)

Luckes Beauty Academy LLC

Newport News, Virginia

Grad rate
25%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
17
Net price
No freshman cohort
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPrivate (nonprofit)

Mary Baldwin University

Staunton, Virginia

Grad rate
39%
Admit rate
87.1%
Enrollment
1,772
Net price
$12,756
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPrivate (nonprofit)

Marymount University

Arlington, Virginia

Grad rate
54%
Admit rate
93.2%
Enrollment
4,060
Net price
$29,137
View data
Private (for-profit)

Medical Solutions Academy

Danville, Virginia

Grad rate
94%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
108
Net price
$18,093
View data
Community CollegePublic

Mountain Empire Community College

Big Stone Gap, Virginia

Grad rate
48%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
2,116
Net price
$8,852
View data
Community CollegePublic

Mountain Gateway Community College

Clifton Forge, Virginia

Grad rate
38%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
989
Net price
$4,861
View data
Community CollegePublic

New River Community College

Dublin, Virginia

Grad rate
50%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
4,254
Net price
$6,279
View data
Masters Colleges & Universities: Medium ProgramsPublicHBCU

Norfolk State University

Norfolk, Virginia

Grad rate
38%
Admit rate
87.8%
Enrollment
6,053
Net price
$15,282
View data
Community CollegePublicHSI

Northern Virginia Community College

Annandale, Virginia

Grad rate
33%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
56,457
Net price
$9,919
View data
Private (for-profit)

Northern Virginia School of Therapeutic Massage

Falls Church, Virginia

Grad rate
No freshman cohort
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
101
Net price
No freshman cohort
View data
R1 ResearchPublic

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, Virginia

Grad rate
46%
Admit rate
90.4%
Enrollment
23,743
Net price
$14,638
View data
Community CollegePublic

Patrick & Henry Community College

Martinsville, Virginia

Grad rate
42%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
1,908
Net price
$4,102
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Patrick Henry College

Purcellville, Virginia

Grad rate
74%
Admit rate
77.4%
Enrollment
425
Net price
No federal aid
View data
Community CollegePublic

Paul D Camp Community College

Franklin, Virginia

Grad rate
36%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
1,219
Net price
$4,126
View data
Private (for-profit)

Paul Mitchell the School - Roanoke

Roanoke, Virginia

Grad rate
59%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
169
Net price
$20,318
View data
Private (for-profit)

Paul Mitchell the School - Tysons Corner

McLean, Virginia

Grad rate
65%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
Net price
Not reported
View data
Private (for-profit)

Paul Mitchell the School - Woodbridge

Woodbridge, Virginia

Grad rate
50%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
Net price
Not reported
View data
Community CollegePublic

Piedmont Virginia Community College

Charlottesville, Virginia

Grad rate
39%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
5,263
Net price
$5,963
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPublic

Radford University

Radford, Virginia

Grad rate
49%
Admit rate
89.5%
Enrollment
7,812
Net price
$14,578
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Randolph College

Lynchburg, Virginia

Grad rate
46%
Admit rate
93.7%
Enrollment
816
Net price
$15,921
View data
BaccalaureatePrivate (nonprofit)

Randolph - Macon College

Ashland, Virginia

Grad rate
70%
Admit rate
86.6%
Enrollment
1,687
Net price
$27,866
View data
Community CollegePublic

Rappahannock Community College

Glenns, Virginia

Grad rate
45%
Admit rate
Open admission
Enrollment
2,962
Net price
$4,343
View data
Doctoral/ProfessionalPrivate (nonprofit)

Regent University

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Grad rate
57%
Admit rate
38.1%
Enrollment
10,657
Net price
$19,923
View data
Special Focus Two-Year: Other FieldsPublic

Richard Bland College

South Prince George, Virginia

Grad rate
9%
Admit rate
89.3%
Enrollment
2,788
Net price
$13,045
View data
Special Focus Two-Year: Health ProfessionsPrivate (nonprofit)

Riverside College of Health Careers

Newport News, Virginia

Grad rate
100%
Admit rate
12.9%
Enrollment
350
Net price
$20,744
View data

Frequently asked questions

How many colleges and universities are in Virginia?
Virginia has 144 Title IV-eligible institutions in this dataset, drawn from IPEDS and College Scorecard. Together they enroll about 578,902 students.
What are the largest universities in Virginia?
By total enrollment, the largest institutions in Virginia are Liberty, NVCC, George Mason, VPISU, and Virginia Commonwealth.
What is the average graduation rate and net price in Virginia?
The median graduation rate among institutions that report one is 54%, and the median average net price is $19,066. Figures come from IPEDS and College Scorecard.

Data: IPEDS Fall 2025–26 provisional · College Scorecard (June 2026 release). All sources & release dates →

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card