Texas · Social Sciences

Best colleges for Social Sciences in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

West Texas A & M University, University of North Texas and The University of Texas at Dallas award the most Social Sciences degrees in Texas: 60, 32 and 21 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Texas colleges offer Social Sciences and award 212 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Social Sciences program, also known as Social Sciences, General, focuses on the study of human behavior in its social and cultural contexts. This program is designed for students interested in exploring the complexities of society,…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 45.01
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
212
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$45,687
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
42%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social Science Research Assistants
$65,950
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,6793261%—$22,625
2The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$47,248951%—$20,238
3University of Houston-Downtown
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$45,6871633%—$20,429

Colleges awarding the most Social Sciences degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
60Not reported
2University of North Texas
Denton Public
32$34,679
3The University of Texas at Dallas
Richardson Public
21Not reported
4University of Houston-Downtown
Houston Public
16$45,687
5Amarillo College
Amarillo Public
9Not reported
6The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
9$47,248
7The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler Public
9Not reported
8Sul Ross State University
Alpine Public
6Not reported
9Texarkana College
Texarkana Public
3Not reported
10Western Texas College
Snyder Public
1Not reported
Show the other 3 Texas colleges offering Social Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Central Texas CollegeKilleenPublic24
South Texas CollegeMcAllenPublic14
Blinn College DistrictBrenhamPublic8

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,040
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningWritingCritical ThinkingSpeakingScience

What Social Science Research Assistants earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
1,180
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$65,950
median $58,070
Best-paying metro
$79,650
Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX

Related careers

Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
$61,890 avg · 116,260 jobs
Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$64,480 avg · 80,160 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$107,920 avg · 2,260 jobs
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All Other
$78,880 avg · 1,530 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Social Sciences programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Social Sciences degrees?+

West Texas A & M University (60 graduates a year), University of North Texas (32 graduates a year) and The University of Texas at Dallas (21 graduates a year) award the most Social Sciences degrees in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Texas colleges offer Social Sciences.

Which Social Sciences program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of North Texas tops the list at $34,679. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Social Science Research Assistants earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Social Science Research Assistants in Texas is $65,950 (median $58,070), across about 1,180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Social Sciences program?+

The Social Sciences program, also known as Social Sciences, General, focuses on the study of human behavior in its social and cultural contexts. This program is designed for students interested in exploring the complexities of society,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, writing, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social Science Research Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +4.4% growth with around 5,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card