Texas · Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries

Best colleges for Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of St Thomas, Nelson University and Dallas Baptist University award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees and certificates in Texas: 84, 56 and 44 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 21 Texas colleges offer Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries and award 362 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program focuses on equipping students with the skills and knowledge necessary for effective ministry and counseling within various religious contexts. This program is ideal for individuals…

Institutions
21
offering CIP 39.07
States offered
37
with a program page
Degrees / yr
362
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,910
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,359
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
55%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Clergy
$62,430
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Nelson University
Waxahachie Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$30,9105642%$19,790$26,750
2Lubbock Christian University
Lubbock Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$38,473451%$25,162—

Colleges awarding the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of St Thomas
Houston Private not-for-profit
84Not reported
2Nelson University
Waxahachie Private not-for-profit
56$30,910
3Dallas Baptist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit
44Not reported
4Abilene Christian University
Abilene Private not-for-profit
23Not reported
5The King's University
Southlake Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
6Redeemers University North America
Greenville Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
7University of Dallas
Irving Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
8East Texas Baptist University
Marshall Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
9University of the Incarnate Word
San Antonio Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
10Lubbock Christian University
Lubbock Private not-for-profit
4$38,473
Show the other 11 Texas colleges offering Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Dallas Theological Seminary (Graduate only)DallasPrivate not-for-profit57
Bakke Graduate University (Graduate only)DallasPrivate not-for-profit27
Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary (Graduate only)AustinPrivate not-for-profit15
Howard Payne UniversityBrownwoodPrivate not-for-profit6
Abilene Christian University - Undergraduate Online (Online)AddisonPrivate not-for-profit4
Arlington Baptist UniversityArlingtonPrivate not-for-profit3
Dallas Christian CollegeDallasPrivate not-for-profit3
Episcopal Theological Seminary of the Southwest (Graduate only)AustinPrivate not-for-profit2
University of Mary Hardin-BaylorBeltonPrivate not-for-profit2
Messenger CollegeBedfordPrivate not-for-profit1
Grace School of TheologyThe WoodlandsPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Clergy (SOC 21-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.0%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~23,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,820
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningWritingReading ComprehensionActive LearningCritical Thinking

What Clergy earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
3,180
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$62,430
median $59,480
Best-paying metro
$76,020
Waco, TX

Related careers

Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$50,640 avg · 6,080 jobs
Clergy
$62,430 avg · 3,180 jobs
Counselors, All Other
$55,250 avg · 2,550 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$82,680 avg · 1,760 jobs
Religious Workers, All Other
$40,290 avg · 440 jobs
Directors, Religious Activities and Education
$79,690 avg · 330 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees?+

University of St Thomas (84 graduates a year), Nelson University (56 graduates a year) and Dallas Baptist University (44 graduates a year) award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 21 Texas colleges offer Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries.

Which Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Nelson University tops the list at $30,910. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Clergy earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Clergy in Texas is $62,430 (median $59,480), across about 3,180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program?+

The Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program focuses on equipping students with the skills and knowledge necessary for effective ministry and counseling within various religious contexts. This program is ideal for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Clergy?+

The national job outlook is about +1.0% growth with around 23,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries in other statesMissouriCaliforniaIllinoisPennsylvaniaFloridaTennesseeVirginiaMichigan

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card