Best colleges for Optometry in Texas
Ranked by graduates a year
University of Houston and University of the Incarnate Word award the most Optometry degrees and certificates in Texas: 99 and 66 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 Texas colleges offer Optometry and award 165 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Optometry program focuses on the healthcare practice of examining eyes for visual defects, prescribing corrective lenses, and detecting eye abnormalities. This program is ideal for individuals interested in a career that combines…
2 institutions offering Optometry in Texas
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Houston Houston Public | — | 99 | 65% | — | — |
| 2 | University of the Incarnate Word San Antonio Private not-for-profit | — | 66 | 51% | $21,745 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Optometry degrees in Texas
Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Houston Houston Public | 99 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of the Incarnate Word San Antonio Private not-for-profit | 66 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Optometrists (SOC 29-1041).
Top skills
What Optometrists earn in Texas
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Optometry programs in Texas.
Which Texas colleges award the most Optometry degrees?+
University of Houston (99 graduates a year) and University of the Incarnate Word (66 graduates a year) award the most Optometry degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 Texas colleges offer Optometry.
How much do Optometrists earn in Texas?+
The average annual wage for Optometrists in Texas is $124,760 (median $126,000), across about 4,110 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Optometry program?+
The Optometry program focuses on the healthcare practice of examining eyes for visual defects, prescribing corrective lenses, and detecting eye abnormalities. This program is ideal for individuals interested in a career that combines…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Optometrists?+
The national job outlook is about +8.0% growth with around 2,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card