Texas · Journalism

Best colleges for Journalism in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Southern Methodist University, The University of Texas at Austin and University of North Texas are the top bachelor's Journalism programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Southern Methodist University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,502, College Scorecard. The University of Texas at Austin, University of North Texas and Baylor University award the most Journalism degrees in Texas: 182, 179 and 65 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Texas colleges offer Journalism and award 741 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Journalism program focuses on the principles and practices of reporting, writing, and broadcasting news. It is designed for students who are passionate about storytelling and wish to explore the diverse cultural values and ethical…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 09.04
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
741
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,675
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,342
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists
$63,390
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 9 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Southern Methodist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$40,5023284%$33,246$19,448
2The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,33618289%—$21,500
3University of North Texas
Denton Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,11817961%—$19,877
4University of Houston
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,2266365%—$21,500
5Baylor University
Waco Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$35,6756580%$35,682$23,959
6Texas State University
San Marcos Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,2555055%—$20,847
7Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,6223569%—$23,250
8Angelo State University
San Angelo Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,008744%——
9Texas Southern University
Houston Public · Bachelor's degree
$18,3012422%—$34,750

Colleges awarding the most Journalism degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
182$39,336
2University of North Texas
Denton Public
179$38,118
3Baylor University
Waco Private not-for-profit
65$35,675
4University of Houston
Houston Public
63$36,226
5Texas State University
San Marcos Public
50$33,255
6Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
35$29,622
7Southern Methodist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit
32$40,502
8Texas Christian University
Fort Worth Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
9The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
19Not reported
10Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
17Not reported
Show the other 10 Texas colleges offering Journalism
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Texas Southern UniversityHoustonPublic24
Austin Community College DistrictAustinPublic11
El Paso Community CollegeEl PasoPublic9
Angelo State UniversitySan AngeloPublic7
Texarkana CollegeTexarkanaPublic5
Our Lady of the Lake UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit4
South Plains CollegeLevellandPublic3
Abilene Christian UniversityAbilenePrivate not-for-profit2
Tyler Junior CollegeTylerPublic2
Del Mar CollegeCorpus ChristiPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists (SOC 27-3023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-3.9%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~4,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,280
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
2,670
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$63,390
median $48,470
Best-paying metro
$90,430
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX

Related careers

Editors
$57,300 avg · 6,460 jobs
Photographers
$43,720 avg · 4,330 jobs
Communications Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,070 avg · 2,880 jobs
News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists
$63,390 avg · 2,670 jobs
Writers and Authors
$81,210 avg · 2,320 jobs
Film and Video Editors
$69,690 avg · 1,040 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Journalism programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Journalism degrees?+

The University of Texas at Austin (182 graduates a year), University of North Texas (179 graduates a year) and Baylor University (65 graduates a year) award the most Journalism degrees in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Texas colleges offer Journalism.

What is the best college for Journalism in Texas?+

By graduate earnings, Southern Methodist University leads among bachelor's Journalism programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $40,502, College Scorecard. The University of Texas at Austin and University of North Texas follow. By degrees awarded, The University of Texas at Austin is the largest, with 182 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Journalism program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Southern Methodist University tops the list at $40,502. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists in Texas is $63,390 (median $48,470), across about 2,670 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Journalism program?+

The Journalism program focuses on the principles and practices of reporting, writing, and broadcasting news. It is designed for students who are passionate about storytelling and wish to explore the diverse cultural values and ethical…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, writing, reading comprehension, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists?+

The national job outlook is about -3.9% growth with around 4,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card