Texas · Engineering-Related Fields

Best colleges for Engineering-Related Fields in Texas

Ranked by graduates a year

University of North Texas, Lamar University and The University of Texas at Arlington award the most Engineering-Related Fields degrees and certificates in Texas: 120, 69 and 51 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 Texas colleges offer Engineering-Related Fields and award 528 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Engineering-Related Fields program encompasses a variety of disciplines that apply scientific and mathematical principles to develop technological solutions. This program is ideal for students interested in pursuing careers in…

Institutions
16
offering CIP 15.15
States offered
41
with a program page
Degrees / yr
528
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,285
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
61%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Industrial Engineers
$114,840
BLS OEWS May 2025

16 institutions offering Engineering-Related Fields in Texas

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of North Texas
Denton Public
—12061%——
2Lamar University
Beaumont Public
—6937%——
3The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
—5154%——
4University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
—4252%——
5Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
—4284%——
6Southern Methodist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit
—4184%$33,246—
7The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler Public
—3854%——
8Rice University
Houston Private not-for-profit
—3095%$13,264—
9The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
—2989%——
10Texas State University
San Marcos Public
—1355%——
11Texas A&M University - Kingsville
Kingsville Public
—1342%——
12University of Houston
Houston Public
—1165%——
13The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
—1151%——
14St. Mary's University
San Antonio Private not-for-profit
—1059%$21,285—
15The University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio Public
—553%——
16East Texas A&M University
Commerce Public
—343%——

Colleges awarding the most Engineering-Related Fields degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Texas
Denton Public
120Not reported
2Lamar University
Beaumont Public
69Not reported
3The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
51Not reported
4University of Houston-Clear Lake
Houston Public
42Not reported
5Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
42Not reported
6Southern Methodist University
Dallas Private not-for-profit
41Not reported
7The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler Public
38Not reported
8Rice University
Houston Private not-for-profit
30Not reported
9The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
29Not reported
10Texas State University
San Marcos Public
13Not reported
Show the other 6 Texas colleges offering Engineering-Related Fields
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Texas A&M University - KingsvilleKingsvillePublic13
University of HoustonHoustonPublic11
The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyEdinburgPublic11
St. Mary's UniversitySan AntonioPrivate not-for-profit10
The University of Texas at San AntonioSan AntonioPublic5
East Texas A&M UniversityCommercePublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Industrial Engineers (SOC 17-2112).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+11.0%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~25,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,140
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingWritingMonitoring

What Industrial Engineers earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
30,980
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$114,840
median $104,560
Best-paying metro
$151,520
Midland, TX

Related careers

Industrial Engineers
$114,840 avg · 30,980 jobs
Industrial Production Managers
$138,210 avg · 21,200 jobs
Facilities Managers
$109,930 avg · 13,140 jobs
Engineering Technologists and Technicians, Except Drafters, All Other
$75,100 avg · 7,110 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Engineering-Related Fields programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Engineering-Related Fields degrees?+

University of North Texas (120 graduates a year), Lamar University (69 graduates a year) and The University of Texas at Arlington (51 graduates a year) award the most Engineering-Related Fields degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 Texas colleges offer Engineering-Related Fields.

How much do Industrial Engineers earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Industrial Engineers in Texas is $114,840 (median $104,560), across about 30,980 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Engineering-Related Fields program?+

The Engineering-Related Fields program encompasses a variety of disciplines that apply scientific and mathematical principles to develop technological solutions. This program is ideal for students interested in pursuing careers in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Industrial Engineers?+

The national job outlook is about +11.0% growth with around 25,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card