Texas · Engineering Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Engineering Technologies/Technicians in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Texas State University, Texas A&M University - College Station and University of Houston award the most Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas: 29, 21 and 17 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Texas colleges offer Engineering Technologies/Technicians and award 118 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Engineering Technologies/Technicians program provides students with the skills and knowledge necessary to support various branches of technology. This program is ideal for individuals interested in practical applications of engineering…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 15.00
States offered
43
with a program page
Degrees / yr
118
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$52,958
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$73,620
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Texas State University
San Marcos Public · Bachelor's degree
$52,9582955%—$24,000

Colleges awarding the most Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Texas State University
San Marcos Public
29$52,958
2Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
21Not reported
3University of Houston
Houston Public
17Not reported
4Sam Houston State University
Huntsville Public
11Not reported
5West Texas A & M University
Canyon Public
9Not reported
6University of North Texas
Denton Public
8Not reported
7Temple College
Temple Public
6Not reported
8Laredo College
Laredo Public
5Not reported
9The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
Edinburg Public
5Not reported
10San Jacinto Community College
Pasadena Public
2Not reported
Show the other 2 Texas colleges offering Engineering Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Texas Southern UniversityHoustonPublic3
Blinn College DistrictBrenhamPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians (SOC 17-3023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~8,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$77,180
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningWritingSpeakingMonitoring

What Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
8,960
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$73,620
median $74,050
Best-paying metro
$81,760
Waco, TX

Related careers

Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$73,620 avg · 8,960 jobs
Engineering Technologists and Technicians, Except Drafters, All Other
$75,100 avg · 7,110 jobs
Industrial Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$70,290 avg · 5,060 jobs
Civil Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$64,100 avg · 4,470 jobs
Electro-Mechanical and Mechatronics Technologists and Technicians
$64,270 avg · 1,800 jobs
Aerospace Engineering and Operations Technologists and Technicians
$81,510 avg · 950 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Engineering Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

Texas State University (29 graduates a year), Texas A&M University - College Station (21 graduates a year) and University of Houston (17 graduates a year) award the most Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Texas colleges offer Engineering Technologies/Technicians.

Which Engineering Technologies/Technicians program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Texas State University tops the list at $52,958. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians in Texas is $73,620 (median $74,050), across about 8,960 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Engineering Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Engineering Technologies/Technicians program provides students with the skills and knowledge necessary to support various branches of technology. This program is ideal for individuals interested in practical applications of engineering…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 8,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Engineering Technologies/Technicians in other statesMinnesotaWashingtonOhioWisconsinNew JerseyGeorgiaFloridaIllinois

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card