Tennessee · Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Best colleges for Natural Resources Conservation and Research in Tennessee

Ranked by graduate earnings

The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, The University of the South and Tennessee Technological University award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 78, 24 and 13 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Tennessee colleges offer Natural Resources Conservation and Research and award 158 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Natural Resources Conservation and Research program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of natural resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges and promote…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 03.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
158
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$28,188
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,573
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
59%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Conservation Scientists
$75,250
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1The University of the South
Sewanee Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$35,2042480%$21,573—
2The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
Chattanooga Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,1887850%—$20,500

Colleges awarding the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees in Tennessee

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
Chattanooga Public
78$28,188
2The University of the South
Sewanee Private not-for-profit
24$35,204
3Tennessee Technological University
Cookeville Public
13Not reported
4Rhodes College
Memphis Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
5Belmont University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
6Tennessee State University
Nashville Public
8Not reported
7The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Knoxville Public
7Not reported
8Maryville College
Maryville Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
Show the other 1 Tennessee colleges offering Natural Resources Conservation and Research
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Tusculum UniversityGreenevillePrivate not-for-profit3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Conservation Scientists (SOC 19-1031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$67,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingScienceWritingCritical Thinking

What Conservation Scientists earn in Tennessee

Jobs in Tennessee
250
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$75,250
median $70,500
Best-paying metro
$82,080
Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin, TN

Related careers

Compliance Officers
$73,980 avg · 7,990 jobs
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health
$84,680 avg · 1,230 jobs
Forest and Conservation Technicians
$51,720 avg · 390 jobs
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health
$57,650 avg · 320 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$75,250 avg · 250 jobs
Foresters
$73,270 avg · 120 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Natural Resources Conservation and Research programs in Tennessee.

Which Tennessee colleges award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees?+

The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga (78 graduates a year), The University of the South (24 graduates a year) and Tennessee Technological University (13 graduates a year) award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Tennessee colleges offer Natural Resources Conservation and Research.

Which Natural Resources Conservation and Research program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The University of the South tops the list at $35,204. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Conservation Scientists earn in Tennessee?+

The average annual wage for Conservation Scientists in Tennessee is $75,250 (median $70,500), across about 250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Natural Resources Conservation and Research program?+

The Natural Resources Conservation and Research program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of natural resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges and promote…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, science, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Conservation Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 2,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Natural Resources Conservation and Research in other statesAlabamaDistrict of ColumbiaWest VirginiaKansasOklahomaNew JerseyArizonaRhode Island

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card