Best colleges for Forestry in Tennessee
Ranked by graduate earnings
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville, Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Hohenwald and The University of the South award the most Forestry degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 31, 7 and 3 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 Tennessee colleges offer Forestry and award 41 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Forestry program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of forest resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges, promote biodiversity, and manage forest…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public · Bachelor's degree | $31,441 | 31 | 74% | — | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Forestry degrees in Tennessee
Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public | 31 | $31,441 |
| 2 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Hohenwald Hohenwald Public | 7 | Not reported |
| 3 | The University of the South Sewanee Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Foresters (SOC 19-1032).
Top skills
What Foresters earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Forestry programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Forestry degrees?+
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville (31 graduates a year), Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Hohenwald (7 graduates a year) and The University of the South (3 graduates a year) award the most Forestry degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 Tennessee colleges offer Forestry.
Which Forestry program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The University of Tennessee-Knoxville tops the list at $31,441. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Foresters earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Foresters in Tennessee is $73,270 (median $71,990), across about 120 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Forestry program?+
The Forestry program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of forest resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges, promote biodiversity, and manage forest…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Foresters?+
The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 1,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card