Best colleges for Criminology in South Carolina
Ranked by graduate earnings
Clemson University, Lander University and Coker University award the most Criminology degrees in South Carolina: 126, 30 and 16 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 South Carolina colleges offer Criminology and award 179 degrees and certificates a year in all.
Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…
Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Clemson University Clemson Public · Bachelor's degree | $38,057 | 126 | 87% | — | $22,375 |
| 2 | Southern Wesleyan University Central Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $40,834 | 4 | 52% | $19,568 | $25,000 |
| 3 | Coker University Hartsville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $25,862 | 16 | 40% | $17,749 | $30,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Criminology degrees in South Carolina
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Clemson University Clemson Public | 126 | $38,057 |
| 2 | Lander University Greenwood Public | 30 | Not reported |
| 3 | Coker University Hartsville Private not-for-profit | 16 | $25,862 |
| 4 | Southern Wesleyan University Central Private not-for-profit | 4 | $40,834 |
| 5 | University of South Carolina-Columbia Columbia Public | 3 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Sociologists (SOC 19-3041).
Top skills
What Sociologists earn in South Carolina
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Criminology programs in South Carolina.
Which South Carolina colleges award the most Criminology degrees?+
Clemson University (126 graduates a year), Lander University (30 graduates a year) and Coker University (16 graduates a year) award the most Criminology degrees in South Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 South Carolina colleges offer Criminology.
Which Criminology program in South Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Clemson University tops the list at $38,057. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
What is the focus of the Criminology program?+
Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Sociologists?+
The national job outlook is about +3.6% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card