Maine · Criminology

Best colleges for Criminology in Maine

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Southern Maine, Central Maine Community College and University of New England award the most Criminology degrees and certificates in Maine: 25, 3 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Maine colleges offer Criminology and award 30 degrees and certificates a year in all.

Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 45.04
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
30
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$47,726
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$34,673
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Sociologists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Southern Maine
Portland Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,7262540%—$23,565

Colleges awarding the most Criminology degrees in Maine

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Southern Maine
Portland Public
25$47,726
2Central Maine Community College
Auburn Public
3Not reported
3University of New England
Biddeford Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
4Thomas College
Waterville Private not-for-profit
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Sociologists (SOC 19-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.6%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,690
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningWritingActive LearningReading ComprehensionCritical Thinking

What Sociologists earn in Maine

Jobs in Maine
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All Other
$74,260 avg · 390 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
— avg · 110 jobs
Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement Teachers, Postsecondary
—
Sociologists
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Criminology programs in Maine.

Which Maine colleges award the most Criminology degrees?+

University of Southern Maine (25 graduates a year), Central Maine Community College (3 graduates a year) and University of New England (1 graduate a year) award the most Criminology degrees and certificates in Maine, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Maine colleges offer Criminology.

Which Criminology program in Maine has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Southern Maine tops the list at $47,726. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Criminology program?+

Criminology is the interdisciplinary study of crime and deviant behavior, situated within the field of social sciences. This program draws from various disciplines, including sociology, psychology, and law, making it ideal for students…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Sociologists?+

The national job outlook is about +3.6% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card