Best colleges for Sports in Rhode Island
Ranked by graduates a year
University of Rhode Island, Providence College and Rhode Island College award the most Sports degrees and certificates in Rhode Island: 154, 22 and 12 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Rhode Island colleges offer Sports and award 204 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
7 institutions offering Sports in Rhode Island
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Rhode Island Kingston Public | — | 154 | 73% | — | — |
| 2 | Providence College Providence Private not-for-profit | — | 22 | 86% | $32,048 | — |
| 3 | Rhode Island College Providence Public | — | 12 | 48% | — | — |
| 4 | Johnson & Wales University - Providence Providence Private not-for-profit | — | 11 | 55% | $31,634 | — |
| 5 | Johnson & Wales University - Online Providence Private not-for-profit Online | — | 3 | 0% | $21,981 | — |
| 6 | Bryant University Smithfield Private not-for-profit | — | 1 | 80% | $38,485 | — |
| 7 | Community College of Rhode Island Warwick Public | — | 1 | 26% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in Rhode Island
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Rhode Island Kingston Public | 154 | Not reported |
| 2 | Providence College Providence Private not-for-profit | 22 | Not reported |
| 3 | Rhode Island College Providence Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 4 | Johnson & Wales University - Providence Providence Private not-for-profit | 11 | Not reported |
| 5 | Bryant University Smithfield Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 2 Rhode Island colleges offering Sports
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Johnson & Wales University - Online (Online) | Providence | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Community College of Rhode Island | Warwick | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).
Top skills
What Exercise Physiologists earn in Rhode Island
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Sports programs in Rhode Island.
Which Rhode Island colleges award the most Sports degrees?+
University of Rhode Island (154 graduates a year), Providence College (22 graduates a year) and Rhode Island College (12 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees and certificates in Rhode Island, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Rhode Island colleges offer Sports.
What is the focus of the Sports program?+
The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+
The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card