Best colleges for Special Education and Teaching in Pennsylvania
Ranked by graduate earnings
Millersville University of Pennsylvania, Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia and Kutztown University of Pennsylvania are the top bachelor's Special Education and Teaching programs in Pennsylvania by graduate earnings. Millersville University of Pennsylvania leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $51,664, College Scorecard. Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania Western University and West Chester University of Pennsylvania award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Pennsylvania: 196, 98 and 94 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 58 Pennsylvania colleges offer Special Education and Teaching and award 1,634 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Millersville University of Pennsylvania Millersville Public · Bachelor's degree | $51,664 | 63 | 58% | — | $29,737 |
| 2 | Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia Philadelphia Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $50,698 | 66 | 79% | $34,418 | $27,000 |
| 3 | Kutztown University of Pennsylvania Kutztown Public · Bachelor's degree | $50,645 | 53 | 54% | — | $27,000 |
| 4 | East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania East Stroudsburg Public · Bachelor's degree | $50,327 | 41 | 43% | — | $27,000 |
| 5 | Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Bloomsburg Public · Bachelor's degree | $50,159 | 84 | 54% | — | $27,000 |
| 6 | Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania Shippensburg Public · Bachelor's degree | $49,835 | 28 | 56% | — | $28,500 |
| 7 | La Salle University Philadelphia Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $48,302 | 28 | 57% | $21,997 | $27,000 |
| 8 | Mercyhurst University Erie Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $46,636 | 37 | 60% | $25,987 | $27,000 |
| 9 | Indiana University of Pennsylvania Indiana Public · Bachelor's degree | $44,121 | 48 | 56% | — | $27,000 |
| 10 | Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Slippery Rock Public · Bachelor's degree | $43,480 | 196 | 66% | — | $27,000 |
Top certificate or associate program
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pennsylvania State University - World Campus University Park Public · Graduate degree Online | $71,293 | 48 | 34% | — | $22,607 |
Colleges awarding the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Pennsylvania
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania Slippery Rock Public | 196 | $43,480 |
| 2 | Pennsylvania Western University California Public | 98 | $40,012 |
| 3 | West Chester University of Pennsylvania West Chester Public | 94 | Not reported |
| 4 | Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania Bloomsburg Public | 84 | $50,159 |
| 5 | Neumann University Aston Private not-for-profit | 73 | $42,488 |
| 6 | Holy Family University Philadelphia Private not-for-profit | 71 | Not reported |
| 7 | Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia Philadelphia Private not-for-profit | 66 | $50,698 |
| 8 | Arcadia University Glenside Private not-for-profit | 64 | Not reported |
| 9 | Millersville University of Pennsylvania Millersville Public | 63 | $51,664 |
| 10 | University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Pittsburgh Public | 63 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 48 Pennsylvania colleges offering Special Education and Teaching
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kutztown University of Pennsylvania | Kutztown | Public | 53 |
| Wilson College | Chambersburg | Private not-for-profit | 51 |
| Indiana University of Pennsylvania | Indiana | Public | 48 |
| Pennsylvania State University - World Campus (Online) | University Park | Public | 48 |
| East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania | East Stroudsburg | Public | 41 |
| Mercyhurst University | Erie | Private not-for-profit | 37 |
| Pennsylvania State University | University Park | Public | 34 |
| La Salle University | Philadelphia | Private not-for-profit | 28 |
| Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania | Shippensburg | Public | 28 |
| Temple University | Philadelphia | Public | 28 |
| Eastern University | Saint Davids | Private not-for-profit | 22 |
| Lehigh University | Bethlehem | Private not-for-profit | 22 |
| Lincoln University | Lincoln University | Public | 20 |
| King's College | Wilkes-Barre | Private not-for-profit | 19 |
| DeSales University | Center Valley | Private not-for-profit | 17 |
| Gwynedd Mercy University | Gwynedd Valley | Private not-for-profit | 17 |
| Waynesburg University | Waynesburg | Private not-for-profit | 17 |
| Chestnut Hill College | Philadelphia | Private not-for-profit | 16 |
| Grove City College | Grove City | Private not-for-profit | 16 |
| Drexel University | Philadelphia | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Gannon University | Erie | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Thiel College | Greenville | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Duquesne University | Pittsburgh | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Messiah University | Mechanicsburg | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Alvernia University | Reading | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Saint Francis University | Loretto | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Northampton County Area Community College | Bethlehem | Public | 8 |
| University of Scranton | Scranton | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Keystone College | La Plume | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Cairn University - Langhorne | Langhorne | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Robert Morris University | Moon Township | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Susquehanna University | Selinsgrove | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Widener University | Chester | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Wilkes University | Wilkes-Barre | Private not-for-profit | 7 |
| Albright College | Reading | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Carlow University | Pittsburgh | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Juniata College | Huntingdon | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Lehigh Carbon Community College | Schnecksville | Public | 5 |
| York College of Pennsylvania | York | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Cedar Crest College | Allentown | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Elizabethtown College | Elizabethtown | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Moravian University | Bethlehem | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Cheyney University of Pennsylvania | Cheyney | Public | 3 |
| Lancaster Bible College | Lancaster | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Seton Hill University | Greensburg | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Delaware Valley University | Doylestown | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Marywood University | Scranton | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Point Park University | Pittsburgh | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Special Education Teachers, Preschool (SOC 25-2051).
Top skills
What Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Pennsylvania
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Special Education and Teaching programs in Pennsylvania.
Which Pennsylvania colleges award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees?+
Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania (196 graduates a year), Pennsylvania Western University (98 graduates a year) and West Chester University of Pennsylvania (94 graduates a year) award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Pennsylvania, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 58 Pennsylvania colleges offer Special Education and Teaching.
What is the best college for Special Education and Teaching in Pennsylvania?+
By graduate earnings, Millersville University of Pennsylvania leads among bachelor's Special Education and Teaching programs in Pennsylvania, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $51,664, College Scorecard. Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia and Kutztown University of Pennsylvania follow. By degrees awarded, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania is the largest, with 196 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Special Education and Teaching program in Pennsylvania has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Millersville University of Pennsylvania tops the list at $51,664. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Pennsylvania?+
The average annual wage for Special Education Teachers, Preschool in Pennsylvania is $84,680 (median $83,510), across about 490 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Special Education and Teaching program?+
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Special Education Teachers, Preschool?+
The national job outlook is about +1.4% growth with around 2,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card