Oklahoma · Sociology

Best colleges for Sociology in Oklahoma

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Central Oklahoma, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus and Oklahoma State University are the top bachelor's Sociology programs in Oklahoma by graduate earnings. University of Central Oklahoma leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,727, College Scorecard. University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus, Oklahoma State University and University of Central Oklahoma award the most Sociology degrees in Oklahoma: 104, 80 and 29 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Oklahoma colleges offer Sociology and award 316 degrees and certificates a year in all.

Sociology is the scientific study of human society, focusing on social behavior, relationships, and cultural aspects of everyday life. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of social interactions…

Institutions
17
offering CIP 45.11
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
316
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,917
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,470
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Sociologists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Central Oklahoma
Edmond Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,7272937%—$28,000
2University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
Norman Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,91710475%—$24,172
3Oklahoma State University
Stillwater Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,3658068%—$24,751

Colleges awarding the most Sociology degrees in Oklahoma

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus
Norman Public
104$35,917
2Oklahoma State University
Stillwater Public
80$33,365
3University of Central Oklahoma
Edmond Public
29$37,727
4Oral Roberts University
Tulsa Private not-for-profit
14Not reported
5Oklahoma City University
Oklahoma City Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
6Northeastern State University
Tahlequah Public
7Not reported
7Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Durant Public
7Not reported
8University of Tulsa
Tulsa Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
9University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
Chickasha Public
4Not reported
10Cameron University
Lawton Public
3Not reported
Show the other 7 Oklahoma colleges offering Sociology
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Oklahoma City Community CollegeOklahoma CityPublic19
Tulsa Community CollegeTulsaPublic14
Rose State CollegeMidwest CityPublic12
Langston UniversityLangstonPublic4
Southern Nazarene UniversityBethanyPrivate not-for-profit1
Connors State CollegeWarnerPublic1
Northwestern Oklahoma State UniversityAlvaPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Sociologists (SOC 19-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.6%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$101,690
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningWritingActive LearningReading ComprehensionCritical Thinking

What Sociologists earn in Oklahoma

Jobs in Oklahoma
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Sociology Teachers, Postsecondary
$64,640 avg · 120 jobs
Social Science Research Assistants
$75,960 avg · 100 jobs
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All Other
$58,920 avg · 40 jobs
Sociologists
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sociology programs in Oklahoma.

Which Oklahoma colleges award the most Sociology degrees?+

University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus (104 graduates a year), Oklahoma State University (80 graduates a year) and University of Central Oklahoma (29 graduates a year) award the most Sociology degrees in Oklahoma, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Oklahoma colleges offer Sociology.

What is the best college for Sociology in Oklahoma?+

By graduate earnings, University of Central Oklahoma leads among bachelor's Sociology programs in Oklahoma, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $37,727, College Scorecard. University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus and Oklahoma State University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Oklahoma-Norman Campus is the largest, with 104 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Sociology program in Oklahoma has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Central Oklahoma tops the list at $37,727. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Sociology program?+

Sociology is the scientific study of human society, focusing on social behavior, relationships, and cultural aspects of everyday life. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of social interactions…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Sociologists?+

The national job outlook is about +3.6% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card