Best colleges for Sociology in Iowa
Ranked by graduate earnings
Grinnell College, University of Iowa and Iowa State University award the most Sociology degrees in Iowa: 40, 21 and 16 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Iowa colleges offer Sociology and award 157 degrees and certificates a year in all.
Sociology is the scientific study of human society, focusing on social behavior, relationships, and cultural aspects of everyday life. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of social interactions…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Grinnell College Grinnell Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $28,216 | 40 | 88% | $14,470 | $16,000 |
| 2 | University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $41,250 | 9 | 68% | — | $24,594 |
| 3 | Iowa State University Ames Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $40,602 | 16 | 75% | — | $21,935 |
| 4 | Central College Pella Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $38,034 | 8 | 66% | $19,732 | $25,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Sociology degrees in Iowa
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Grinnell College Grinnell Private not-for-profit | 40 | $28,216 |
| 2 | University of Iowa Iowa City Public | 21 | Not reported |
| 3 | Iowa State University Ames Public | 16 | $40,602 |
| 4 | Wartburg College Waverly Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
| 5 | Drake University Des Moines Private not-for-profit | 11 | Not reported |
| 6 | University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls Public | 9 | $41,250 |
| 7 | Central College Pella Private not-for-profit | 8 | $38,034 |
| 8 | Des Moines Area Community College Ankeny Public | 7 | Not reported |
| 9 | Mount Mercy University Cedar Rapids Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
| 10 | Saint Ambrose University Davenport Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 13 Iowa colleges offering Sociology
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coe College | Cedar Rapids | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Cornell College | Mount Vernon | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| University of Dubuque | Dubuque | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Eastern Iowa Community College District | Davenport | Public | 2 |
| Graceland University - Lamoni | Lamoni | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Indian Hills Community College | Ottumwa | Public | 2 |
| Iowa Western Community College | Council Bluffs | Public | 2 |
| Loras College | Dubuque | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Luther College | Decorah | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Marshalltown Community College | Marshalltown | Public | 2 |
| Southeastern Community College | West Burlington | Public | 2 |
| Northwestern College | Orange City | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Upper Iowa University | Fayette | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Sociologists (SOC 19-3041).
Top skills
What Sociologists earn in Iowa
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Sociology programs in Iowa.
Which Iowa colleges award the most Sociology degrees?+
Grinnell College (40 graduates a year), University of Iowa (21 graduates a year) and Iowa State University (16 graduates a year) award the most Sociology degrees in Iowa, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Iowa colleges offer Sociology.
Which Sociology program in Iowa has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Grinnell College tops the list at $28,216. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
What is the focus of the Sociology program?+
Sociology is the scientific study of human society, focusing on social behavior, relationships, and cultural aspects of everyday life. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of social interactions…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Sociologists?+
The national job outlook is about +3.6% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card