Oklahoma · Human Development

Best colleges for Human Development in Oklahoma

Ranked by graduate earnings

Oklahoma State University, Southern Nazarene University and University of Central Oklahoma are the top bachelor's Human Development programs in Oklahoma by graduate earnings. Oklahoma State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $41,243, College Scorecard. Oklahoma State University, Northern Oklahoma College and Southeastern Oklahoma State University award the most Human Development degrees in Oklahoma: 107, 77 and 72 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Oklahoma colleges offer Human Development and award 1,042 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

Institutions
24
offering CIP 19.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,042
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,103
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
7
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,964
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
45%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Social and Human Service Assistants
$38,910
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Oklahoma State University
Stillwater Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,24310768%—$23,858
2Southern Nazarene University
Bethany Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$41,0622551%$19,619$38,563
3University of Central Oklahoma
Edmond Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,4912137%—$27,500
4Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Durant Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,9977232%—$18,000

Top 3 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Carl Albert State College
Poteau Public · Certificate
$21,62513343%—$9,125
2Tulsa Community College
Tulsa Public · Associate degree
$33,10314028%—$15,287
3Oklahoma State University - Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Public · Associate degree
$32,9675615%—$20,230

Colleges awarding the most Human Development degrees in Oklahoma

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Oklahoma State University
Stillwater Public
107$41,243
2Northern Oklahoma College
Tonkawa Public
77Not reported
3Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Durant Public
72$32,997
4Redlands Community College
El Reno Public
50Not reported
5Seminole State College
Seminole Public
44Not reported
6Connors State College
Warner Public
36Not reported
7Southern Nazarene University
Bethany Private not-for-profit
25$41,062
8Tulsa Technology Center
Tulsa Public
25Not reported
9Oklahoma Christian University
Edmond Private not-for-profit
23Not reported
10Northeast Technology Center
Pryor Public
23Not reported
Show the other 14 Oklahoma colleges offering Human Development
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Tulsa Community CollegeTulsaPublic140
Carl Albert State CollegePoteauPublic133
Oklahoma State University - Oklahoma CityOklahoma CityPublic56
Murray State CollegeTishomingoPublic52
Rose State CollegeMidwest CityPublic49
Oklahoma City Community CollegeOklahoma CityPublic37
University of Central OklahomaEdmondPublic21
Western Oklahoma State CollegeAltusPublic16
Eastern Oklahoma County Technology CenterChoctawPublic14
Meridian Technology CenterStillwaterPublic12
Northeastern Oklahoma A&M CollegeMiamiPublic11
Cameron UniversityLawtonPublic7
Eastern Oklahoma State CollegeWilburtonPublic6
Pioneer Technology CenterPonca CityPublic6

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Social and Human Service Assistants (SOC 21-1093).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+6.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~50,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$45,120
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionMonitoringWritingCritical Thinking

What Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Oklahoma

Jobs in Oklahoma
3,340
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$38,910
median $36,740
Best-paying metro
$40,510
Tulsa, OK

Related careers

Childcare Workers
$29,170 avg · 7,590 jobs
Preschool Teachers, Except Special Education
$37,310 avg · 7,010 jobs
Social and Human Service Assistants
$38,910 avg · 3,340 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$88,760 avg · 220 jobs
Psychologists, All Other
$121,430 avg · 90 jobs
Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$52,780 avg · 70 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Development programs in Oklahoma.

Which Oklahoma colleges award the most Human Development degrees?+

Oklahoma State University (107 graduates a year), Northern Oklahoma College (77 graduates a year) and Southeastern Oklahoma State University (72 graduates a year) award the most Human Development degrees in Oklahoma, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Oklahoma colleges offer Human Development.

What is the best college for Human Development in Oklahoma?+

By graduate earnings, Oklahoma State University leads among bachelor's Human Development programs in Oklahoma, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $41,243, College Scorecard. Southern Nazarene University and University of Central Oklahoma follow. By degrees awarded, Oklahoma State University is the largest, with 107 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Human Development program in Oklahoma has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Oklahoma State University tops the list at $41,243. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Social and Human Service Assistants earn in Oklahoma?+

The average annual wage for Social and Human Service Assistants in Oklahoma is $38,910 (median $36,740), across about 3,340 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Development program?+

The Human Development program, officially titled Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services, focuses on understanding the various aspects of human growth and family dynamics. This interdisciplinary field falls under Family and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Social and Human Service Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +6.4% growth with around 50,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card