North Carolina · Sports

Best colleges for Sports in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

North Carolina State University at Raleigh, Western Carolina University and Campbell University are the top bachelor's Sports programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. North Carolina State University at Raleigh leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $33,717, College Scorecard. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina Wilmington and University of North Carolina at Greensboro award the most Sports degrees in North Carolina: 332, 190 and 182 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 55 North Carolina colleges offer Sports and award 2,827 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
55
offering CIP 31.05
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,827
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$31,165
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
30
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,351
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
50%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Exercise Physiologists
$56,850
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,71714985%—$21,500
2Western Carolina University
Cullowhee Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,4285860%—$25,000
3Campbell University
Buies Creek Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$32,1676861%$23,331$25,250
4University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public · Bachelor's degree
$31,16533291%—$16,575
5East Carolina University
Greenville Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,79715663%—$27,000
6Johnson C Smith University
Charlotte Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$29,6782134%$21,563$34,078
7University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro Public · Bachelor's degree
$29,48218256%—$25,000
8Barton College
Wilson Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$29,3744946%$23,133$27,000
9Guilford College
Greensboro Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$28,8023346%$25,345$27,000
10Wingate University
Wingate Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$28,55113246%$21,585$25,000

Colleges awarding the most Sports degrees in North Carolina

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Public
332$31,165
2University of North Carolina Wilmington
Wilmington Public
190Not reported
3University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro Public
182$29,482
4East Carolina University
Greenville Public
156$29,797
5North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public
149$33,717
6North Carolina A & T State University
Greensboro Public
138$26,498
7Wingate University
Wingate Private not-for-profit
132$28,551
8High Point University
High Point Private not-for-profit
121Not reported
9Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem Private not-for-profit
116$21,192
10Elon University
Elon Private not-for-profit
108$21,440
Show the other 45 North Carolina colleges offering Sports
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of North Carolina at PembrokePembrokePublic83
Lenoir-Rhyne UniversityHickoryPrivate not-for-profit81
Campbell UniversityBuies CreekPrivate not-for-profit68
North Carolina Central UniversityDurhamPublic66
Catawba CollegeSalisburyPrivate not-for-profit63
Western Carolina UniversityCullowheePublic58
Winston-Salem State UniversityWinston-SalemPublic50
Barton CollegeWilsonPrivate not-for-profit49
Methodist UniversityFayettevillePrivate not-for-profit44
Gardner-Webb UniversityBoiling SpringsPrivate not-for-profit41
Pfeiffer UniversityMisenheimerPrivate not-for-profit41
Fayetteville State UniversityFayettevillePublic38
Brevard CollegeBrevardPrivate not-for-profit37
Elizabeth City State UniversityElizabeth CityPublic37
Guilford CollegeGreensboroPrivate not-for-profit33
Brunswick Community CollegeBoliviaPublic30
University of Mount OliveMount OlivePrivate not-for-profit29
Belmont Abbey CollegeBelmontPrivate not-for-profit26
Chowan UniversityMurfreesboroPrivate not-for-profit22
North Carolina Wesleyan UniversityRocky MountPrivate not-for-profit22
Johnson C Smith UniversityCharlottePrivate not-for-profit21
Greensboro CollegeGreensboroPrivate not-for-profit20
Mars Hill UniversityMars HillPrivate not-for-profit19
Lees-McRae CollegeBanner ElkPrivate not-for-profit18
Shaw UniversityRaleighPrivate not-for-profit18
Livingstone CollegeSalisburyPrivate not-for-profit17
Meredith CollegeRaleighPrivate not-for-profit17
Wake Technical Community CollegeRaleighPublic16
University of North Carolina at CharlotteCharlottePublic15
William Peace UniversityRaleighPrivate not-for-profit15
Queens University of CharlotteCharlottePrivate not-for-profit15
Central Carolina Community CollegeSanfordPublic11
Fayetteville Technical Community CollegeFayettevillePublic11
Gaston CollegeDallasPublic11
College of the AlbemarleElizabeth CityPublic8
Coastal Carolina Community CollegeJacksonvillePublic8
Louisburg CollegeLouisburgPrivate not-for-profit8
Sandhills Community CollegePinehurstPublic8
Appalachian State UniversityBoonePublic7
Johnston Community CollegeSmithfieldPublic7
Montreat CollegeMontreatPrivate not-for-profit5
Saint Augustine's UniversityRaleighPrivate not-for-profit5
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community CollegeAshevillePublic3
Catawba Valley Community CollegeHickoryPublic1
Salem CollegeWinston-SalemPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$58,160
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Exercise Physiologists earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
370
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$56,850
median $52,450
Best-paying metro
$63,040
Raleigh-Cary, NC

Related careers

Exercise Trainers and Group Fitness Instructors
$48,270 avg · 10,670 jobs
Coaches and Scouts
$56,720 avg · 8,530 jobs
Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling
$86,430 avg · 1,200 jobs
Athletic Trainers
$59,800 avg · 990 jobs
Athletes and Sports Competitors
— avg · 760 jobs
Recreation and Fitness Studies Teachers, Postsecondary
$74,490 avg · 730 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Sports programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Sports degrees?+

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (332 graduates a year), University of North Carolina Wilmington (190 graduates a year) and University of North Carolina at Greensboro (182 graduates a year) award the most Sports degrees in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 55 North Carolina colleges offer Sports.

What is the best college for Sports in North Carolina?+

By graduate earnings, North Carolina State University at Raleigh leads among bachelor's Sports programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $33,717, College Scorecard. Western Carolina University and Campbell University follow. By degrees awarded, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is the largest, with 332 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Sports program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, North Carolina State University at Raleigh tops the list at $33,717. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Exercise Physiologists earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Exercise Physiologists in North Carolina is $56,850 (median $52,450), across about 370 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Sports program?+

The Sports program, officially titled Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness, focuses on the study of physical activity, fitness, and recreation. This program is designed for individuals interested in promoting health and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Exercise Physiologists?+

The national job outlook is about +9.5% growth with around 1,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in North CarolinaParksParksOutdoor EducationParks

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card