New York · Law

Best colleges for Law in New York

Ranked by graduates a year

Columbia University, Fordham University and New York University award the most Law degrees and certificates in New York: 457, 420 and 417 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 New York colleges offer Law and award 4,110 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Law program focuses on legal professions and studies, providing students with a comprehensive understanding of legal principles and practices. It is designed for individuals who hold a bachelor's degree in a non-law field and are…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 22.01
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
4,110
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$29,023
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
79%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Lawyers
$220,180
BLS OEWS May 2025

15 institutions offering Law in New York

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
—45796%$15,315—
2Fordham University
Bronx Private not-for-profit
—42082%$38,931—
3New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
—41788%$29,023—
4Brooklyn Law School
Brooklyn Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—355———
5New York Law School
New York Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—312———
6Yeshiva University
New York Private not-for-profit
—30383%$39,696—
7Pace University
New York Private not-for-profit
—26160%$29,994—
8Hofstra University
Hempstead Private not-for-profit
—26069%$34,539—
9St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit
—24966%$27,359—
10Syracuse University
Syracuse Private not-for-profit
—20884%$28,851—
11Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
—19795%$17,613—
12CUNY School of Law
Long Island City Public Graduate only
—195———
13Albany Law School
Albany Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—190———
14Touro University
New York Private not-for-profit
—14572%$27,110—
15University at Buffalo
Buffalo Public
—14175%——

Colleges awarding the most Law degrees in New York

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
457Not reported
2Fordham University
Bronx Private not-for-profit
420Not reported
3New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
417Not reported
4Yeshiva University
New York Private not-for-profit
303Not reported
5Pace University
New York Private not-for-profit
261Not reported
6Hofstra University
Hempstead Private not-for-profit
260Not reported
7St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit
249Not reported
8Syracuse University
Syracuse Private not-for-profit
208Not reported
9Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
197Not reported
10Touro University
New York Private not-for-profit
145Not reported
Show the other 5 New York colleges offering Law
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Brooklyn Law School (Graduate only)BrooklynPrivate not-for-profit355
New York Law School (Graduate only)New YorkPrivate not-for-profit312
CUNY School of Law (Graduate only)Long Island CityPublic195
Albany Law School (Graduate only)AlbanyPrivate not-for-profit190
University at BuffaloBuffaloPublic141

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Lawyers (SOC 23-1011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$151,160
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Lawyers earn in New York

Jobs in New York
91,870
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$220,180
median $207,860
Best-paying metro
$224,840
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Lawyers
$220,180 avg · 91,870 jobs
Judges, Magistrate Judges, and Magistrates
$198,770 avg · 2,270 jobs
Law Teachers, Postsecondary
$168,030 avg · 2,190 jobs
Administrative Law Judges, Adjudicators, and Hearing Officers
$123,150 avg · 1,400 jobs
Arbitrators, Mediators, and Conciliators
$80,090 avg · 1,050 jobs
Judicial Law Clerks
$126,340 avg · 850 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Law programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most Law degrees?+

Columbia University (457 graduates a year), Fordham University (420 graduates a year) and New York University (417 graduates a year) award the most Law degrees and certificates in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 New York colleges offer Law.

How much do Lawyers earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Lawyers in New York is $220,180 (median $207,860), across about 91,870 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Law program?+

The Law program focuses on legal professions and studies, providing students with a comprehensive understanding of legal principles and practices. It is designed for individuals who hold a bachelor's degree in a non-law field and are…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Lawyers?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 31,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card