Connecticut · Law

Best colleges for Law in Connecticut

Ranked by graduates a year

Yale University, University of Connecticut and Quinnipiac University award the most Law degrees and certificates in Connecticut: 211, 145 and 123 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 Connecticut colleges offer Law and award 479 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Law program focuses on legal professions and studies, providing students with a comprehensive understanding of legal principles and practices. It is designed for individuals who hold a bachelor's degree in a non-law field and are…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 22.01
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
479
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$36,137
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
85%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Lawyers
$186,170
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Law in Connecticut

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Yale University
New Haven Private not-for-profit
—21196%$27,025—
2University of Connecticut
Storrs Public
—14583%——
3Quinnipiac University
Hamden Private not-for-profit
—12376%$36,137—

Colleges awarding the most Law degrees in Connecticut

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Yale University
New Haven Private not-for-profit
211Not reported
2University of Connecticut
Storrs Public
145Not reported
3Quinnipiac University
Hamden Private not-for-profit
123Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Lawyers (SOC 23-1011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$151,160
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Lawyers earn in Connecticut

Jobs in Connecticut
8,420
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$186,170
median $163,600
Best-paying metro
$231,710
Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury, CT

Related careers

Lawyers
$186,170 avg · 8,420 jobs
Administrative Law Judges, Adjudicators, and Hearing Officers
$105,130 avg · 300 jobs
Judicial Law Clerks
$102,260 avg · 270 jobs
Judges, Magistrate Judges, and Magistrates
$194,050 avg · 230 jobs
Law Teachers, Postsecondary
—
Arbitrators, Mediators, and Conciliators
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Law programs in Connecticut.

Which Connecticut colleges award the most Law degrees?+

Yale University (211 graduates a year), University of Connecticut (145 graduates a year) and Quinnipiac University (123 graduates a year) award the most Law degrees and certificates in Connecticut, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 Connecticut colleges offer Law.

How much do Lawyers earn in Connecticut?+

The average annual wage for Lawyers in Connecticut is $186,170 (median $163,600), across about 8,420 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Law program?+

The Law program focuses on legal professions and studies, providing students with a comprehensive understanding of legal principles and practices. It is designed for individuals who hold a bachelor's degree in a non-law field and are…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Lawyers?+

The national job outlook is about +4.1% growth with around 31,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card