New York · Non-Professional Legal Studies

Best colleges for Non-Professional Legal Studies in New York

Ranked by graduate earnings

CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Siena University and St. John's University - New York are the top bachelor's Non-Professional Legal Studies programs in New York by graduate earnings. CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $32,649, College Scorecard. St. John's University - New York, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice and University at Buffalo award the most Non-Professional Legal Studies degrees in New York: 124, 122 and 95 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 New York colleges offer Non-Professional Legal Studies and award 483 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Non-Professional Legal Studies program offers students an opportunity to explore legal principles and practices without qualifying for bar admission. This program is ideal for individuals with a bachelor's degree in a non-law field who…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 22.00
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
483
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$32,435
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$27,359
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
67%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$76,890
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
New York Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,64912256%—$9,500
2Siena University
Loudonville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$32,4353075%$30,138$27,000
3St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$29,30712466%$27,359$26,030
4Mercy University
Dobbs Ferry Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$38,5791246%$17,604$29,250

Colleges awarding the most Non-Professional Legal Studies degrees in New York

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1St. John's University - New York
Queens Private not-for-profit
124$29,307
2CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
New York Public
122$32,649
3University at Buffalo
Buffalo Public
95Not reported
4United States Military Academy
West Point Public
48Not reported
5Siena University
Loudonville Private not-for-profit
30$32,435
6St. John Fisher University
Rochester Private not-for-profit
17Not reported
7Mercy University
Dobbs Ferry Private not-for-profit
12$38,579
8SUNY at Purchase College
Purchase Public
10Not reported
9Ithaca College
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
10Pace University
New York Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
Show the other 3 New York colleges offering Non-Professional Legal Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
State University of New York at PlattsburghPlattsburghPublic5
Manhattanville UniversityPurchasePrivate not-for-profit2
Touro UniversityNew YorkPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Paralegals and Legal Assistants (SOC 23-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~39,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,010
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

WritingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in New York

Jobs in New York
34,220
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$76,890
median $68,410
Best-paying metro
$80,260
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$76,890 avg · 34,220 jobs
Legal Support Workers, All Other
$88,650 avg · 1,760 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Non-Professional Legal Studies programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most Non-Professional Legal Studies degrees?+

St. John's University - New York (124 graduates a year), CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice (122 graduates a year) and University at Buffalo (95 graduates a year) award the most Non-Professional Legal Studies degrees in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 New York colleges offer Non-Professional Legal Studies.

What is the best college for Non-Professional Legal Studies in New York?+

By graduate earnings, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice leads among bachelor's Non-Professional Legal Studies programs in New York, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $32,649, College Scorecard. Siena University and St. John's University - New York follow. By degrees awarded, St. John's University - New York is the largest, with 124 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Non-Professional Legal Studies program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice tops the list at $32,649. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Paralegals and Legal Assistants in New York is $76,890 (median $68,410), across about 34,220 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Non-Professional Legal Studies program?+

The Non-Professional Legal Studies program offers students an opportunity to explore legal principles and practices without qualifying for bar admission. This program is ideal for individuals with a bachelor's degree in a non-law field who…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop writing, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Paralegals and Legal Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +0.2% growth with around 39,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card