New Mexico · Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services

Best colleges for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in New Mexico

Ranked by graduate earnings

Aveda Institute - New Mexico, Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque and Vogue College of Cosmetology - Santa Fe are the top Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in New Mexico by graduate earnings. Aveda Institute - New Mexico leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $18,842, College Scorecard. Avenue Academy, A Cosmetology Institute, Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque and Clovis Community College award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in New Mexico: 115, 111 and 109 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 New Mexico colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services and award 808 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 12.04
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
808
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$16,841
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$18,463
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
55%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
$39,550
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Aveda Institute - New Mexico
Albuquerque Private for-profit · Certificate
$18,8429688%$18,463$9,862
2Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque
Albuquerque Private for-profit · Certificate
$16,87211178%$14,118$13,000
3Vogue College of Cosmetology - Santa Fe
Santa Fe Private for-profit · Certificate
$16,8543675%$23,313$9,500
4Avenue Academy, A Cosmetology Institute
Albuquerque Private for-profit · Certificate
$16,84111594%$16,658$6,416
5Central New Mexico Community College
Albuquerque Public · Associate degree
$16,4968531%——
6Glitz School of Cosmetology
Las Cruces Private for-profit · Certificate
$16,1784569%$8,927$12,766

Colleges awarding the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees in New Mexico

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Avenue Academy, A Cosmetology Institute
Albuquerque Private for-profit
115$16,841
2Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque
Albuquerque Private for-profit
111$16,872
3Clovis Community College
Clovis Public
109Not reported
4Aveda Institute - New Mexico
Albuquerque Private for-profit
96$18,842
5Central New Mexico Community College
Albuquerque Public
85$16,496
6New Mexico Junior College
Hobbs Public
48Not reported
7Glitz School of Cosmetology
Las Cruces Private for-profit
45$16,178
8Glitz School of Cosmetology - Santa Fe Campus
Santa Fe Private for-profit
45Not reported
9San Juan College
Farmington Public
40Not reported
10A Better U Beauty Barber Academy
Albuquerque Private for-profit
38Not reported
Show the other 4 New Mexico colleges offering Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Vogue College of Cosmetology - Santa FeSanta FePrivate for-profit36
Luna Community CollegeLas VegasPublic23
University of New Mexico-Gallup CampusGallupPublic11
Northern New Mexico CollegeEspanolaPublic6

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists (SOC 39-5012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.6%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~75,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$35,250
typically Postsecondary nondegree award

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingActive LearningReading ComprehensionMonitoring

What Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists earn in New Mexico

Jobs in New Mexico
1,230
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$39,550
median $37,750
Best-paying metro
$40,170
Albuquerque, NM

Related careers

Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
$39,550 avg · 1,230 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Personal Service Workers
$50,550 avg · 580 jobs
Skincare Specialists
$53,170 avg · 370 jobs
Barbers
$38,760 avg · 50 jobs
Manicurists and Pedicurists
$32,510
Personal Service Managers, All Other
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in New Mexico.

Which New Mexico colleges award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees?+

Avenue Academy, A Cosmetology Institute (115 graduates a year), Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque (111 graduates a year) and Clovis Community College (109 graduates a year) award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in New Mexico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 New Mexico colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.

What is the best college for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in New Mexico?+

By graduate earnings, Aveda Institute - New Mexico leads among Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in New Mexico, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $18,842, College Scorecard. Paul Mitchell the School - Albuquerque and Vogue College of Cosmetology - Santa Fe follow. By degrees awarded, Avenue Academy, A Cosmetology Institute is the largest, with 115 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program in New Mexico has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Aveda Institute - New Mexico tops the list at $18,842. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists earn in New Mexico?+

The average annual wage for Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists in New Mexico is $39,550 (median $37,750), across about 1,230 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program?+

The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists?+

The national job outlook is about +5.6% growth with around 75,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in other statesNorth DakotaWyomingMinnesotaVermontNew HampshireNebraskaSouth DakotaWashington

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card