Best colleges for Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in New Jersey
Ranked by graduates a year
Rider University, The College of New Jersey and Rowan University award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in New Jersey: 32, 24 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 New Jersey colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language and award 64 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
5 institutions offering Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language in New Jersey
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rider University Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit | — | 32 | 61% | $23,844 | — |
| 2 | The College of New Jersey Ewing Public | — | 24 | 86% | — | — |
| 3 | Rowan University Glassboro Public | — | 4 | 67% | — | — |
| 4 | Felician University Lodi Private not-for-profit | — | 3 | 47% | $41,497 | — |
| 5 | Montclair State University Montclair Public | — | 1 | 65% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees in New Jersey
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Rider University Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit | 32 | Not reported |
| 2 | The College of New Jersey Ewing Public | 24 | Not reported |
| 3 | Rowan University Glassboro Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 4 | Felician University Lodi Private not-for-profit | 3 | Not reported |
| 5 | Montclair State University Montclair Public | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors (SOC 25-3011).
Top skills
What Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in New Jersey
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language programs in New Jersey.
Which New Jersey colleges award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees?+
Rider University (32 graduates a year), The College of New Jersey (24 graduates a year) and Rowan University (4 graduates a year) award the most Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language degrees and certificates in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 New Jersey colleges offer Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.
How much do Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors earn in New Jersey?+
The average annual wage for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors in New Jersey is $77,410 (median $81,100), across about 1,350 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program?+
The Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language program prepares students to teach English or French to non-native speakers. This program is ideal for individuals interested in language education and cultural exchange,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, learning strategies, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Adult Basic Education, Adult Secondary Education, and English as a Second Language Instructors?+
The national job outlook is about -13.7% growth with around 3,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card