New Jersey · Computer Programming

Best colleges for Computer Programming in New Jersey

Ranked by graduate earnings

Rowan University, Fairleigh Dickinson University - Metropolitan Campus and Atlantic Cape Community College award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in New Jersey: 161, 20 and 18 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 New Jersey colleges offer Computer Programming and award 277 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 11.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
277
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,799
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$18,059
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer Programmers
$114,950
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Rowan University
Glassboro Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,79916167%—$25,000

Colleges awarding the most Computer Programming degrees in New Jersey

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Rowan University
Glassboro Public
161$41,799
2Fairleigh Dickinson University - Metropolitan Campus
Teaneck Private not-for-profit
20Not reported
3Atlantic Cape Community College
Mays Landing Public
18Not reported
4Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester Campus
Sewell Public
7Not reported
5UCNJ Union College of Union County, New Jersey
Cranford Public
7Not reported
6Camden County College
Blackwood Public
6Not reported
7Middlesex College
Edison Public
3Not reported
Show the other 2 New Jersey colleges offering Computer Programming
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Essex County CollegeNewarkPublic35
Mercer County Community CollegeWest WindsorPublic20

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer Programmers (SOC 15-1251).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-6.0%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~5,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$98,670
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Computer Programmers earn in New Jersey

Jobs in New Jersey
3,930
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$114,950
median $104,940
Best-paying metro
$108,350
Trenton-Princeton, NJ

Related careers

Software Developers
$143,800 avg · 51,570 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$120,550 avg · 6,550 jobs
Computer Programmers
$114,950 avg · 3,930 jobs
Computer Network Support Specialists
$93,000 avg · 3,370 jobs
Web Developers
$94,990 avg · 2,250 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$104,180 avg · 2,170 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Programming programs in New Jersey.

Which New Jersey colleges award the most Computer Programming degrees?+

Rowan University (161 graduates a year), Fairleigh Dickinson University - Metropolitan Campus (20 graduates a year) and Atlantic Cape Community College (18 graduates a year) award the most Computer Programming degrees and certificates in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 New Jersey colleges offer Computer Programming.

Which Computer Programming program in New Jersey has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Rowan University tops the list at $41,799. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer Programmers earn in New Jersey?+

The average annual wage for Computer Programmers in New Jersey is $114,950 (median $104,940), across about 3,930 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Programming program?+

The Computer Programming program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation within the field of Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services. It is designed for individuals interested in developing software…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer Programmers?+

The national job outlook is about -6.0% growth with around 5,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card