Missouri · Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Best colleges for Student Counseling and Personnel Services in Missouri

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Missouri-Columbia, University of Missouri-St Louis and Missouri Baptist University award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in Missouri: 186, 66 and 51 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Missouri colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services and award 444 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 13.11
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
444
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,269
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$59,160
BLS OEWS May 2025

13 institutions offering Student Counseling and Personnel Services in Missouri

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public
—18675%——
2University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
—6657%——
3Missouri Baptist University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
—5148%$25,407—
4Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
—4558%——
5Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
—3158%——
6Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville Public
—1454%——
7Stephens College
Columbia Private not-for-profit
—1343%$23,198—
8Truman State University
Kirksville Public
—969%——
9Lincoln University
Jefferson City Public
—821%——
10Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
—765%$17,881—
11University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
—755%——
12Culver-Stockton College
Canton Private not-for-profit
—539%$21,269—
13Avila University
Kansas City Private not-for-profit
—252%$16,721—

Colleges awarding the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public
186Not reported
2University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
66Not reported
3Missouri Baptist University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
51Not reported
4Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
45Not reported
5Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
31Not reported
6Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville Public
14Not reported
7Stephens College
Columbia Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
8Truman State University
Kirksville Public
9Not reported
9Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
10University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
7Not reported
Show the other 3 Missouri colleges offering Student Counseling and Personnel Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Lincoln UniversityJefferson CityPublic8
Culver-Stockton CollegeCantonPrivate not-for-profit5
Avila UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors (SOC 21-1012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.5%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$65,140
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionMonitoring

What Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
8,890
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$59,160
median $58,040
Best-paying metro
$63,860
St. Louis, MO-IL

Related careers

Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$59,160 avg · 8,890 jobs
Residential Advisors
$40,970 avg · 1,380 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Student Counseling and Personnel Services programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees?+

University of Missouri-Columbia (186 graduates a year), University of Missouri-St Louis (66 graduates a year) and Missouri Baptist University (51 graduates a year) award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Missouri colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services.

How much do Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors in Missouri is $59,160 (median $58,040), across about 8,890 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Student Counseling and Personnel Services program?+

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors?+

The national job outlook is about +3.5% growth with around 31,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Student Counseling and Personnel Services in other statesMassachusettsAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaMinnesotaColorado

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card