Missouri · Social Work

Best colleges for Social Work in Missouri

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Central Missouri, University of Missouri-Columbia and University of Missouri-St Louis are the top bachelor's Social Work programs in Missouri by graduate earnings. University of Central Missouri leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,295, College Scorecard. Missouri State University - Springfield, Washington University in St Louis and Saint Louis University award the most Social Work degrees in Missouri: 143, 112 and 101 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 21 Missouri colleges offer Social Work and award 729 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…

Institutions
21
offering CIP 44.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
729
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,532
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$17,881
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Healthcare Social Workers
$60,560
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 9 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,2952154%—$26,579
2University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,2364275%—$23,119
3University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,8629757%—$31,000
4Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,54414358%—$25,085
5Missouri Western State University
Saint Joseph Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,5322539%—$27,679
6Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public · Bachelor's degree
$32,2242458%—$25,433
7Lincoln University
Jefferson City Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$32,951421%—$31,000
8College of the Ozarks
Point Lookout Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$32,7011064%$8,360—
9Missouri Southern State University
Joplin Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$27,9361042%—$25,983

Colleges awarding the most Social Work degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
143$35,544
2Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
112Not reported
3Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
101Not reported
4University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
97$35,862
5University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public
42$38,236
6Missouri Baptist University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
36Not reported
7Maryville University of Saint Louis
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
8Missouri Western State University
Saint Joseph Public
25$33,532
9University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
24Not reported
10Southeast Missouri State University
Cape Girardeau Public
24$32,224
Show the other 11 Missouri colleges offering Social Work
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Central MissouriWarrensburgPublic21
Park UniversityParkvillePrivate not-for-profit21
Avila UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit11
Missouri Southern State UniversityJoplinPublic10
College of the OzarksPoint LookoutPrivate not-for-profit10
Lindenwood UniversitySaint CharlesPrivate not-for-profit6
Southwest Baptist UniversityBolivarPrivate not-for-profit6
Lincoln UniversityJefferson CityPublic4
Evangel UniversitySpringfieldPrivate not-for-profit3
Hannibal-LaGrange UniversityHannibalPrivate not-for-profit1
William Woods UniversityFultonPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Healthcare Social Workers (SOC 21-1022).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+7.7%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~18,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$68,090
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Healthcare Social Workers earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
4,430
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$60,560
median $59,870
Best-paying metro
$66,060
Kansas City, MO-KS

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$51,360 avg · 9,620 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$60,560 avg · 4,430 jobs
Social and Community Service Managers
$75,650 avg · 3,060 jobs
Probation Officers and Correctional Treatment Specialists
$47,900 avg · 2,290 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$53,470 avg · 1,640 jobs
Social Workers, All Other
$92,360 avg · 590 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Social Work programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Social Work degrees?+

Missouri State University - Springfield (143 graduates a year), Washington University in St Louis (112 graduates a year) and Saint Louis University (101 graduates a year) award the most Social Work degrees in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 21 Missouri colleges offer Social Work.

What is the best college for Social Work in Missouri?+

By graduate earnings, University of Central Missouri leads among bachelor's Social Work programs in Missouri, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $39,295, College Scorecard. University of Missouri-Columbia and University of Missouri-St Louis follow. By degrees awarded, Missouri State University - Springfield is the largest, with 143 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Social Work program in Missouri has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Central Missouri tops the list at $39,295. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Healthcare Social Workers earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Healthcare Social Workers in Missouri is $60,560 (median $59,870), across about 4,430 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Social Work program?+

The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Healthcare Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +7.7% growth with around 18,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card