Missouri · Computer Science

Best colleges for Computer Science in Missouri

Ranked by graduate earnings

Washington University in St Louis, University of Missouri-St Louis and Webster University are the top bachelor's Computer Science programs in Missouri by graduate earnings. Washington University in St Louis leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $110,302, College Scorecard. University of Central Missouri, University of Missouri-Kansas City and Northwest Missouri State University award the most Computer Science degrees in Missouri: 1,608, 472 and 296 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 19 Missouri colleges offer Computer Science and award 3,311 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…

Institutions
19
offering CIP 11.07
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
3,311
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$69,239
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,890
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
54%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$134,230
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$110,30227694%$14,126$15,500
2University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public · Bachelor's degree
$72,8108257%—$24,736
3Webster University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$70,4003064%$25,090—
4Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$69,84921380%$24,886$27,000
5University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public · Bachelor's degree
$69,23947255%—$26,375
6University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$67,0401,60854%—$21,500
7Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public · Bachelor's degree
$64,94919058%—$22,272
8Central Methodist University - College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Fayette Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$49,6291651%$25,582$25,000

Colleges awarding the most Computer Science degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg Public
1,608$67,040
2University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
472$69,239
3Northwest Missouri State University
Maryville Public
296Not reported
4Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
276$110,302
5Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
213$69,849
6Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
190$64,949
7University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
82$72,810
8Maryville University of Saint Louis
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
68Not reported
9Webster University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
30$70,400
10Central Methodist University - College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Fayette Private not-for-profit
16$49,629
Show the other 9 Missouri colleges offering Computer Science
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Central Methodist University - College of Graduate and Extended StudiesFayettePrivate not-for-profit12
Missouri Western State UniversitySaint JosephPublic11
Missouri Valley CollegeMarshallPrivate not-for-profit9
Columbia CollegeColumbiaPrivate not-for-profit7
College of the OzarksPoint LookoutPrivate not-for-profit7
Southwest Baptist UniversityBolivarPrivate not-for-profit6
Culver-Stockton CollegeCantonPrivate not-for-profit5
Rockhurst UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit2
Missouri University of Science and TechnologyRollaPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
230
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$134,230
median $127,820
Best-paying metro
$156,700
St. Louis, MO-IL

Related careers

Software Developers
$123,810 avg · 20,020 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$104,720 avg · 14,340 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$158,620 avg · 11,130 jobs
Data Scientists
$100,880 avg · 4,730 jobs
Computer Network Support Specialists
$80,440 avg · 3,910 jobs
Information Security Analysts
$107,610 avg · 3,260 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Science programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Computer Science degrees?+

University of Central Missouri (1,608 graduates a year), University of Missouri-Kansas City (472 graduates a year) and Northwest Missouri State University (296 graduates a year) award the most Computer Science degrees in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 19 Missouri colleges offer Computer Science.

What is the best college for Computer Science in Missouri?+

By graduate earnings, Washington University in St Louis leads among bachelor's Computer Science programs in Missouri, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $110,302, College Scorecard. University of Missouri-St Louis and Webster University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Central Missouri is the largest, with 1,608 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Computer Science program in Missouri has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Washington University in St Louis tops the list at $110,302. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Missouri?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Missouri is $134,230 (median $127,820), across about 230 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Science program?+

The Computer Science program focuses on the study of computation, information, and automation. This field encompasses both theoretical and applied disciplines, making it suitable for individuals interested in technology and…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card