Mississippi · Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies

Best colleges for Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in Mississippi

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Mississippi, Belhaven University and Mississippi University for Women award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees and certificates in Mississippi: 12, 8 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Mississippi colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies and award 45 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 23.13
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
45
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,476
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
52%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Editors
$58,480
BLS OEWS May 2025

8 institutions offering Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in Mississippi

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Mississippi
University Public
—1272%——
2Belhaven University
Jackson Private not-for-profit
—849%$22,476—
3Mississippi University for Women
Columbus Public
—847%——
4Mississippi Christian University
Clinton Private not-for-profit
—859%$21,096—
5Jackson State University
Jackson Public
—651%——
6Blue Mountain Christian University
Blue Mountain Private not-for-profit
—155%$18,117—
7Millsaps College
Jackson Private not-for-profit
—157%$25,249—
8Mississippi Valley State University
Itta Bena Public
—127%——

Colleges awarding the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees in Mississippi

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Mississippi
University Public
12Not reported
2Belhaven University
Jackson Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
3Mississippi University for Women
Columbus Public
8Not reported
4Mississippi Christian University
Clinton Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
5Jackson State University
Jackson Public
6Not reported
6Blue Mountain Christian University
Blue Mountain Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
7Millsaps College
Jackson Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Mississippi colleges offering Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Mississippi Valley State UniversityItta BenaPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Editors (SOC 27-3041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~9,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$75,260
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionWritingCritical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingActive Learning

What Editors earn in Mississippi

Jobs in Mississippi
290
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$58,480
median $54,380
Best-paying metro
$58,350
Jackson, MS

Related careers

English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$59,850 avg · 530 jobs
Editors
$58,480 avg · 290 jobs
Writers and Authors
$56,330 avg · 130 jobs
Technical Writers
$69,480 avg · 70 jobs
Proofreaders and Copy Markers
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies programs in Mississippi.

Which Mississippi colleges award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees?+

University of Mississippi (12 graduates a year), Belhaven University (8 graduates a year) and Mississippi University for Women (8 graduates a year) award the most Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies degrees and certificates in Mississippi, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Mississippi colleges offer Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.

How much do Editors earn in Mississippi?+

The average annual wage for Editors in Mississippi is $58,480 (median $54,380), across about 290 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program?+

The Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies program focuses on the art and science of writing, particularly at the college level. It is designed for students interested in developing their writing skills, understanding the nuances of…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, writing, critical thinking, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Editors?+

The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 9,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies in other statesUtahArizonaMarylandSouth CarolinaRhode IslandColoradoMinnesotaTexas

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card