Minnesota · Computer Engineering

Best colleges for Computer Engineering in Minnesota

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Saint Cloud State University and University of St Thomas award the most Computer Engineering degrees and certificates in Minnesota: 68, 27 and 17 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Minnesota colleges offer Computer Engineering and award 174 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Engineering program combines principles of computer science and engineering, focusing on the design and development of computer hardware and software systems. This program is ideal for students interested in the intersection…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 14.09
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
174
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$77,792
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,225
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
62%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer Hardware Engineers
$134,690
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public · Bachelor's degree
$85,6726885%—$23,000
2Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud Public · Bachelor's degree
$77,7922740%—$27,000
3Rasmussen University - Minnesota
St. Cloud Private for-profit · Associate degree Online
$48,2633353%$19,944$23,635

Colleges awarding the most Computer Engineering degrees in Minnesota

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
68$85,672
2Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud Public
27$77,792
3University of St Thomas
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
17Not reported
4University of Minnesota-Crookston
Crookston Public
11Not reported
5Minnesota State University - Mankato
Mankato Public
8Not reported
6Bethel University
Saint Paul Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
7Dunwoody College of Technology
Minneapolis Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
Show the other 2 Minnesota colleges offering Computer Engineering
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Rasmussen University - Minnesota (Online)St. CloudPrivate for-profit33
Walden University (Online)MinneapolisPrivate for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer Hardware Engineers (SOC 17-2061).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+7.3%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~4,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$155,020
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Computer Hardware Engineers earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
770
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$134,690
median $134,300
Best-paying metro
$137,750
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI

Related careers

Software Developers
$127,530 avg · 35,890 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$104,720 avg · 2,630 jobs
Computer Network Architects
$133,830 avg · 2,040 jobs
Database Architects
$134,470 avg · 1,240 jobs
Computer Hardware Engineers
$134,690 avg · 770 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Engineering programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Computer Engineering degrees?+

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (68 graduates a year), Saint Cloud State University (27 graduates a year) and University of St Thomas (17 graduates a year) award the most Computer Engineering degrees and certificates in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Minnesota colleges offer Computer Engineering.

Which Computer Engineering program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities tops the list at $85,672. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer Hardware Engineers earn in Minnesota?+

The average annual wage for Computer Hardware Engineers in Minnesota is $134,690 (median $134,300), across about 770 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Engineering program?+

The Computer Engineering program combines principles of computer science and engineering, focusing on the design and development of computer hardware and software systems. This program is ideal for students interested in the intersection…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer Hardware Engineers?+

The national job outlook is about +7.3% growth with around 4,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card