Utah · Computer Engineering

Best colleges for Computer Engineering in Utah

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Utah, Brigham Young University and Utah Valley University are the top bachelor's Computer Engineering programs in Utah by graduate earnings. University of Utah leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $89,605, College Scorecard. University of Utah, Utah Valley University and Brigham Young University award the most Computer Engineering degrees in Utah: 72, 58 and 51 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Utah colleges offer Computer Engineering and award 1,158 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Engineering program combines principles of computer science and engineering, focusing on the design and development of computer hardware and software systems. This program is ideal for students interested in the intersection…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 14.09
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,158
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$88,785
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$11,580
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
50%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer Hardware Engineers
$114,910
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public · Bachelor's degree
$89,6057265%—$19,375
2Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$88,7855181%$13,712$10,750
3Utah Valley University
Orem Public · Bachelor's degree
$85,5645845%—$14,563

Colleges awarding the most Computer Engineering degrees in Utah

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public
72$89,605
2Utah Valley University
Orem Public
58$85,564
3Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit
51$88,785
4Snow College
Ephraim Public
27Not reported
5Utah Tech University
Saint George Public
20Not reported
6Utah State University
Logan Public
19Not reported
7Weber State University
Ogden Public
13Not reported
8Ensign College
Salt Lake City Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
Show the other 2 Utah colleges offering Computer Engineering
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Western Governors University (Online)Salt Lake CityPrivate not-for-profit888
Salt Lake Community CollegeSalt Lake CityPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer Hardware Engineers (SOC 17-2061).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+7.3%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~4,700
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$155,020
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Computer Hardware Engineers earn in Utah

Jobs in Utah
430
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$114,910
median $106,950
Best-paying metro
$140,340
Salt Lake City-Murray, UT

Related careers

Software Developers
$129,860 avg · 31,940 jobs
Software Quality Assurance Analysts and Testers
$87,700 avg · 2,600 jobs
Computer Network Architects
$127,970 avg · 1,330 jobs
Database Architects
$140,270 avg · 630 jobs
Computer Hardware Engineers
$114,910 avg · 430 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Engineering programs in Utah.

Which Utah colleges award the most Computer Engineering degrees?+

University of Utah (72 graduates a year), Utah Valley University (58 graduates a year) and Brigham Young University (51 graduates a year) award the most Computer Engineering degrees in Utah, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Utah colleges offer Computer Engineering.

What is the best college for Computer Engineering in Utah?+

By graduate earnings, University of Utah leads among bachelor's Computer Engineering programs in Utah, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $89,605, College Scorecard. Brigham Young University and Utah Valley University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Utah is the largest, with 72 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Computer Engineering program in Utah has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Utah tops the list at $89,605. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer Hardware Engineers earn in Utah?+

The average annual wage for Computer Hardware Engineers in Utah is $114,910 (median $106,950), across about 430 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Engineering program?+

The Computer Engineering program combines principles of computer science and engineering, focusing on the design and development of computer hardware and software systems. This program is ideal for students interested in the intersection…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer Hardware Engineers?+

The national job outlook is about +7.3% growth with around 4,700 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card