Michigan · Legal Support Services

Best colleges for Legal Support Services in Michigan

Ranked by graduate earnings

Grand Valley State University, Davenport University and Washtenaw Community College award the most Legal Support Services degrees and certificates in Michigan: 55, 12 and 12 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Michigan colleges offer Legal Support Services and award 206 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Legal Support Services program prepares students for various roles within the legal field, focusing on essential skills and knowledge required to assist legal professionals. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to become…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 22.03
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
206
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$40,778
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$17,015
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$67,240
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Grand Valley State University
Allendale Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,7785567%—$21,500
2Oakland Community College
Auburn Hills Public · Certificate
$42,2623821%—$14,083
3Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$34,010646%——

Colleges awarding the most Legal Support Services degrees in Michigan

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Grand Valley State University
Allendale Public
55$40,778
2Davenport University
Grand Rapids Private not-for-profit
12Not reported
3Washtenaw Community College
Ann Arbor Public
12Not reported
4Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public
6$34,010
5Madonna University
Livonia Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
6Northern Michigan University
Marquette Public
2Not reported
7Siena Heights University
Adrian Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
Show the other 7 Michigan colleges offering Legal Support Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Oakland Community CollegeAuburn HillsPublic38
Henry Ford CollegeDearbornPublic21
Lansing Community CollegeLansingPublic18
Macomb Community CollegeWarrenPublic18
Delta CollegeUniversity CenterPublic9
Wayne County Community College DistrictDetroitPublic5
Kalamazoo Valley Community CollegeKalamazooPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Paralegals and Legal Assistants (SOC 23-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.2%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~39,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,010
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

WritingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in Michigan

Jobs in Michigan
7,730
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$67,240
median $62,170
Best-paying metro
$70,330
Detroit-Warren-Dearborn, MI

Related careers

Paralegals and Legal Assistants
$67,240 avg · 7,730 jobs
Legal Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
$57,090 avg · 3,580 jobs
Legal Support Workers, All Other
$84,020 avg · 1,020 jobs
Interpreters and Translators
$54,040 avg · 940 jobs
Court Reporters and Simultaneous Captioners
$60,050 avg · 260 jobs
Title Examiners, Abstractors, and Searchers
$52,180

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Legal Support Services programs in Michigan.

Which Michigan colleges award the most Legal Support Services degrees?+

Grand Valley State University (55 graduates a year), Davenport University (12 graduates a year) and Washtenaw Community College (12 graduates a year) award the most Legal Support Services degrees and certificates in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Michigan colleges offer Legal Support Services.

Which Legal Support Services program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Grand Valley State University tops the list at $40,778. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Paralegals and Legal Assistants earn in Michigan?+

The average annual wage for Paralegals and Legal Assistants in Michigan is $67,240 (median $62,170), across about 7,730 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Legal Support Services program?+

The Legal Support Services program prepares students for various roles within the legal field, focusing on essential skills and knowledge required to assist legal professionals. This program is ideal for individuals seeking to become…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop writing, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Paralegals and Legal Assistants?+

The national job outlook is about +0.2% growth with around 39,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card