Massachusetts · Agricultural Production Operations

Best colleges for Agricultural Production Operations in Massachusetts

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Clark University and University of Massachusetts-Boston award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 58, 1 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Massachusetts colleges offer Agricultural Production Operations and award 65 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Agricultural Production Operations program focuses on the essential practices of cultivating soil, planting, and harvesting crops, as well as managing livestock. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing a career…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 01.03
States offered
48
with a program page
Degrees / yr
65
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$25,439
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,332
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst Public · Bachelor's degree
$25,4395883%—$23,250

Colleges awarding the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees in Massachusetts

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst Public
58$25,439
2Clark University
Worcester Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
3University of Massachusetts-Boston
Boston Public
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Massachusetts colleges offering Agricultural Production Operations
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Bristol Community CollegeFall RiverPublic5

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers (SOC 11-9013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.3%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~85,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$87,980
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingMonitoringActive Learning

What Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers earn in Massachusetts

Jobs in Massachusetts
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Conservation Scientists
$82,710 avg · 760 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry Workers
$63,020 avg · 390 jobs
Farmworkers, Farm, Ranch, and Aquacultural Animals
$42,500 avg · 270 jobs
Farm and Home Management Educators
$70,040 avg · 40 jobs
Soil and Plant Scientists
$77,160
Agricultural Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Agricultural Production Operations programs in Massachusetts.

Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees?+

University of Massachusetts-Amherst (58 graduates a year), Clark University (1 graduate a year) and University of Massachusetts-Boston (1 graduate a year) award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Massachusetts colleges offer Agricultural Production Operations.

Which Agricultural Production Operations program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Massachusetts-Amherst tops the list at $25,439. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Agricultural Production Operations program?+

The Agricultural Production Operations program focuses on the essential practices of cultivating soil, planting, and harvesting crops, as well as managing livestock. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing a career…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers?+

The national job outlook is about -1.3% growth with around 85,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Agricultural Production Operations in other statesNorth DakotaWashingtonUtahIowaNorth CarolinaSouth DakotaKentuckyConnecticut

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card