North Carolina · Agricultural Production Operations

Best colleges for Agricultural Production Operations in North Carolina

Ranked by graduate earnings

North Carolina State University at Raleigh, Wilkes Community College and Wayne Community College award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees and certificates in North Carolina: 48, 40 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 North Carolina colleges offer Agricultural Production Operations and award 253 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Agricultural Production Operations program focuses on the essential practices of cultivating soil, planting, and harvesting crops, as well as managing livestock. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing a career…

Institutions
16
offering CIP 01.03
States offered
48
with a program page
Degrees / yr
253
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,198
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,259
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
49%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers
$108,780
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public · Associate degree
$35,1984885%—$12,000
2University of Mount Olive
Mount Olive Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,737752%$16,473—

Colleges awarding the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees in North Carolina

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1North Carolina State University at Raleigh
Raleigh Public
48$35,198
2Wilkes Community College
Wilkesboro Public
40Not reported
3Wayne Community College
Goldsboro Public
25Not reported
4Carteret Community College
Morehead City Public
24Not reported
5Lenoir Community College
Kinston Public
18Not reported
6Cleveland Community College
Shelby Public
16Not reported
7Sampson Community College
Clinton Public
16Not reported
8Davidson-Davie Community College
Thomasville Public
11Not reported
9James Sprunt Community College
Kenansville Public
10Not reported
10Central Carolina Community College
Sanford Public
8Not reported
Show the other 6 North Carolina colleges offering Agricultural Production Operations
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Surry Community CollegeDobsonPublic10
University of Mount OliveMount OlivePrivate not-for-profit7
Warren Wilson CollegeSwannanoaPrivate not-for-profit7
Isothermal Community CollegeSpindalePublic5
Martin Community CollegeWilliamstonPublic5
Montgomery Community CollegeTroyPublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers (SOC 11-9013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-1.3%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~85,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$87,980
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingMonitoringActive Learning

What Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers earn in North Carolina

Jobs in North Carolina
250
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$108,780
median $80,540
Best-paying metro
$160,590
Asheville, NC

Related careers

Farmworkers, Farm, Ranch, and Aquacultural Animals
$40,820 avg · 910 jobs
Farm and Home Management Educators
$64,690 avg · 910 jobs
Soil and Plant Scientists
$85,790 avg · 570 jobs
First-Line Supervisors of Farming, Fishing, and Forestry Workers
$60,840 avg · 560 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$72,190 avg · 540 jobs
Agricultural Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary
$101,170 avg · 500 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Agricultural Production Operations programs in North Carolina.

Which North Carolina colleges award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees?+

North Carolina State University at Raleigh (48 graduates a year), Wilkes Community College (40 graduates a year) and Wayne Community College (25 graduates a year) award the most Agricultural Production Operations degrees and certificates in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 North Carolina colleges offer Agricultural Production Operations.

Which Agricultural Production Operations program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, North Carolina State University at Raleigh tops the list at $35,198. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers earn in North Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers in North Carolina is $108,780 (median $80,540), across about 250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Agricultural Production Operations program?+

The Agricultural Production Operations program focuses on the essential practices of cultivating soil, planting, and harvesting crops, as well as managing livestock. This program is designed for individuals interested in pursuing a career…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Farmers, Ranchers, and Other Agricultural Managers?+

The national job outlook is about -1.3% growth with around 85,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Agricultural Production Operations in other statesNorth DakotaWashingtonUtahIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyConnecticutVirginia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card