Kentucky · Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Kentucky

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Kentucky, University of the Cumberlands and Northern Kentucky University award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Kentucky: 461, 52 and 20 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Kentucky colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions and award 587 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 51.15
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
587
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$21,137
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,386
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
56%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$45,280
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of the Cumberlands
Williamsburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$21,1375250%$11,672$22,750

Colleges awarding the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees in Kentucky

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Kentucky
Lexington Public
461Not reported
2University of the Cumberlands
Williamsburg Private not-for-profit
52$21,137
3Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights Public
20Not reported
4University of Louisville
Louisville Public
18Not reported
5Sullivan University
Louisville Private for-profit
14Not reported
6Spalding University
Louisville Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
7Union Commonwealth University
Barbourville Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
8Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green Public
6Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (SOC 21-1023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,060
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringLearning Strategies

What Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Kentucky

Jobs in Kentucky
1,360
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$45,280
median $42,570
Best-paying metro
$51,720
Lexington-Fayette, KY

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$59,270 avg · 8,470 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$64,960 avg · 1,980 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$45,280 avg · 1,360 jobs
Community Health Workers
$51,300 avg · 980 jobs
Psychiatric Technicians
$42,240 avg · 910 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions programs in Kentucky.

Which Kentucky colleges award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

University of Kentucky (461 graduates a year), University of the Cumberlands (52 graduates a year) and Northern Kentucky University (20 graduates a year) award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Kentucky, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Kentucky colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.

Which Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program in Kentucky has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of the Cumberlands tops the list at $21,137. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Kentucky?+

The average annual wage for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers in Kentucky is $45,280 (median $42,570), across about 1,360 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +9.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in other statesCaliforniaColoradoGeorgiaMinnesotaWashingtonNew HampshireKansasSouth Dakota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card