Georgia · Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Georgia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Mercer University, University of Georgia and Valdosta State University award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Georgia: 107, 57 and 22 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Georgia colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions and award 307 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 51.15
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
307
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$50,127
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,641
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
46%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$57,470
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Georgia
Athens Public · Graduate degree
$50,1275790%—$20,187

Colleges awarding the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees in Georgia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Mercer University
Macon Private not-for-profit
107Not reported
2University of Georgia
Athens Public
57$50,127
3Valdosta State University
Valdosta Public
22Not reported
4Agnes Scott College
Decatur Private not-for-profit
20Not reported
5Clark Atlanta University
Atlanta Private not-for-profit
16Not reported
6Albany Technical College
Albany Public
14Not reported
7Toccoa Falls College
Toccoa Falls Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
8Fort Valley State University
Fort Valley Public
10Not reported
9LaGrange College
Lagrange Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
10University of North Georgia
Dahlonega Public
6Not reported
Show the other 4 Georgia colleges offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Thomas UniversityThomasvillePrivate not-for-profit15
South University - SavannahSavannahPrivate for-profit12
Piedmont UniversityDemorestPrivate not-for-profit4
Georgia Highlands CollegeRomePublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (SOC 21-1023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,060
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringLearning Strategies

What Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Georgia

Jobs in Georgia
1,330
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$57,470
median $52,030
Best-paying metro
$64,050
Gainesville, GA

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$54,390 avg · 7,110 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$64,910 avg · 6,970 jobs
Psychiatric Technicians
$47,350 avg · 5,560 jobs
Health Education Specialists
$102,140 avg · 3,210 jobs
Social Workers, All Other
$79,100 avg · 1,510 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions programs in Georgia.

Which Georgia colleges award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

Mercer University (107 graduates a year), University of Georgia (57 graduates a year) and Valdosta State University (22 graduates a year) award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Georgia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Georgia colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.

Which Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program in Georgia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Georgia tops the list at $50,127. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Georgia?+

The average annual wage for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers in Georgia is $57,470 (median $52,030), across about 1,330 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +9.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in other statesCaliforniaColoradoMinnesotaWashingtonNew HampshireKansasSouth DakotaIllinois

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card