Private (nonprofit)

South Baylo University

Anaheim, California·Private not-for-profit, 4-year or above·Far West·southbaylo.edu/web
Acceptance
Grad-only
6-yr Graduation
Grad-only
Total enrollment
198
peer median 162
Avg net price
Grad-only
Use this data
Ask Clema

About

South Baylo University is a private institution located in California, specializing in acupuncture and East Asian medicine education. Founded over 45 years ago, it operates two campuses in Anaheim and Los Angeles. The university is recognized for its comprehensive programs, including a Master's degree in Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine (MAcHM) and a Doctorate in Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (DAOM).

Program outcomes

Federal Program Performance Data: how each program's graduate earnings and debt measure up under Financial Value Transparency and Gainful Employment.

Of 5 Title IV programs, 0 pass the federal Gainful Employment test and 0 fail. 5 have graduate earnings too small to publish, so they carry no pass/fail verdict.

Total programs
5
Passing
0
0.0% of portfolio
Failing (GE)
0
0.0% of portfolio
Fail rate
0.0%
-0.6pp vs 0.6% national

Pass / fail distribution

5programs
  • Passing0 · 0.0%
  • No Data5 · 100.0%
  • Failing0 · 0.0%

Severity spectrum

Critical
0
Severe
0
Recoverable
0
At Risk
0
Watch
0
Safe
0
No data
5

Tiers band programs by how far graduate earnings sit above or below the benchmark, from Critical (below −15%) through Safe (above +25%). No data means earnings were privacy-suppressed.

Accreditation status & history

Who accredits the institution, current standing, and any past actions.

AccreditedInstitutional accreditor

Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine

Accredited since 1993Next review Aug 2019

Programmatic accreditations · 4

Action history · 1

  1. Aug 2017Accreditation Reaffirmed: Probation Removed
    Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Herbal Medicine

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Federal aid volume & trends

Pell grants and federal Direct Loan volume disbursed to students, and how they've trended.

In AY 2024–25, students received in Pell grants, alongside $1.6M in federal Direct Loans.

Pell recipients
AY 2024–25
Pell disbursed
null total
Direct Loans
$1.6M
85 loan awards

Pell recipients · 5-year trend

0k
20
0k
21
0k
22
0k
23
0k
24

Loan volume by type · AY 2024–25

Unsubsidized · UG$14K
2 loan awards
Unsubsidized · Grad$1.5M
79 loan awards
Grad PLUS$69K
4 loan awards

Loan awards count each loan type a student holds, not unique borrowers; one student may carry several (e.g. subsidized and unsubsidized), so the per-type figures are the reliable detail.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Student loan default rate

The share of student borrowers who default on federal loans within three years, against the national benchmark.

Of 75 borrowers who entered repayment, 1 (1.3%) defaulted within three years below the 2.3% national rate.

Default rate
1.3%
-1.0pp vs 2.3% national
Borrowers in repayment
75
Defaulted
1
Measurement window
3 years
Federal CDR standard

Default rate vs national, by cohort

2016
5.4%
2017
4.3%
2018
2.4%
2019
1.3%
2020*
0.0%
This institutionNational rate

* Cohorts 2020 and later read near 0% because the federal COVID-19 payment pause (CARES Act) suspended defaults nationwide. These years reflect a national policy, not institutional performance; the 2019 cohort is the last measured under normal repayment.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Academic programs at South Baylo

Top program areas ranked by completions.

Distinct CIP programs1
GraduateOffered

Top program families by completions

41 total completions
01Health Professions
41100.0%

Enrollment trends & demographics

Fall headcount, 12-month unduplicated enrollment, and student body composition.

Fall total
198
12-mo unduplicated
280

Gender split

Men
34%94
Women
66%186

Race / ethnicity composition

Asian
51.0%
Non-resident
34.1%
White
7.7%
Unknown
2.3%
Hispanic
1.9%
Black
1.5%
American Indian / Alaska Native
0.8%
Native Hawaiian / Pacific Islander
0.4%
Two or more
0.4%

Campus safety & crime statistics

Reported on-campus crimes over the last three years, including violence and hate crimes.

Criminal offenses · per 1,000 students
8.55
2 offenses · 234 students

3-year trend

0.002 yrs ago5.321 yr ago8.55Latest
Offenses · 3-yr
3
Last three years
VAWA · 3-yr
0
DV, dating, stalking
Hate crimes · 3-yr
0
Res-hall fires · 3-yr
0

Criminal offenses by type

Aggravated assault
2

By location

2total
  • On campus2

VAWA offenses

0
Domestic violence
0
Dating violence
0
Stalking
0 total under the Violence Against Women Act.

Hate crimes by bias

No hate crimes reported.

Arrests vs disciplinary referrals

CategoryArrestsReferrals
Weapons00
Drugs00
Liquor00

Residence-hall fires

No residence-hall fires reported.

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education

Student-faculty ratio

Student-to-faculty ratio and instructional staff counts.

Student-to-faculty
9.0:1
Instructional staff (full-time equivalent)
11

South Baylo vs Peer comparison

The peer institutions South Baylo selected for federal comparison reporting.

GraduationRetentionSelectivityEnrollmentAffordabilityYield
This institutionPeer median

A larger shape on any axis means this institution outperforms its peers on that dimension. For acceptance rate and net price, lower raw values are inverted so "more selective" and "more affordable" appear larger.

Carnegie
SubjectSouth Baylo University
Grad-onlyGrad-only198Grad-only
Open admission158$15,962
Grad-onlyGrad-only115Grad-only
Grad-onlyGrad-only523Grad-only
Not reportedNot reported112No freshman cohort
Grad-onlyGrad-only166Grad-only
Peer group median162$15,962

Institutions like South Baylo

Explore the federal data for institutions in South Baylo's comparison group.

Frequently asked questions about South Baylo University

Quick answers to the questions most often asked about South Baylo.

What is the acceptance rate at South Baylo University?

South Baylo University does not have a reported acceptance rate. This institution offers no undergraduate degree programs, so there is no undergraduate admissions cycle to report.

What is the graduation rate at South Baylo University?

South Baylo University does not have a reported federal graduation rate. Federal graduation rates track first-time, full-time undergraduates seeking a degree. This institution offers no undergraduate degree programs, so there is no cohort to follow.

How many students attend South Baylo University?

South Baylo University reports a total enrollment of 198 students per the latest IPEDS.

What is the average net price at South Baylo University?

South Baylo University does not have a reported average net price. Net price is a federal metric for first-time, full-time undergraduates receiving federal aid. This institution offers no undergraduate degree programs, so it does not report one.

Where is South Baylo University located?

South Baylo University is located in Anaheim, California 92801-1701.

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.
DAPIP accreditationContinuously refreshed
Accreditation status for institutions and programs, reported by recognized accrediting agencies.
Federal Pell Grant & loan volumeAY 2025–26 (through Q3), through March 31, 2026
Pell Grant and Direct Loan recipient counts, award amounts, and disbursement volume by institution and award year.
Cohort Default RatesFY 2022 official rates
Institution-level federal student loan default rates, measuring borrowers who default within three years of entering repayment.
Equity in Athletics (EADA)Academic year 2024–25
Athletics participation, coaching, revenues, and expenses by sport and gender for Title IV institutions.
Campus Safety & SecurityData through reporting year 2024
Criminal offenses, arrests, disciplinary actions, VAWA offenses, and fire statistics reported by campus under the Clery Act.

Have a question this page can’t answer?

Ask Clema anything about South Baylo University and its peers — plain language in, cited answers out, in minutes instead of days.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card