Indiana · Information Science/Studies

Best colleges for Information Science/Studies in Indiana

Ranked by graduate earnings

Ivy Tech Community College, Indiana Institute of Technology and Ball State University award the most Information Science/Studies degrees and certificates in Indiana: 428, 304 and 43 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Indiana colleges offer Information Science/Studies and award 2,247 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Information Science/Studies program focuses on the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It encompasses various professional activities, including information management, librarianship, and archiving,…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 11.04
States offered
47
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,247
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$46,815
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,976
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$92,800
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Ivy Tech Community College
Indianapolis Public · Certificate
$46,81542840%—$12,106

Colleges awarding the most Information Science/Studies degrees in Indiana

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Ivy Tech Community College
Indianapolis Public
428$46,815
2Indiana Institute of Technology
Fort Wayne Private not-for-profit
304Not reported
3Ball State University
Muncie Public
43Not reported
4Purdue University
West Lafayette Public
19Not reported
5Indiana University - Indianapolis
Indianapolis Public
17Not reported
Show the other 2 Indiana colleges offering Information Science/Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Trine University - Regional/Non-Traditional Campuses (Online)AngolaPrivate not-for-profit1,281
Purdue University Global (Online)West LafayettePublic155

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Indiana

Jobs in Indiana
720
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$92,800
median $85,460
Best-paying metro
$93,860
Indianapolis-Carmel-Greenwood, IN

Related careers

Software Developers
$113,980 avg · 14,130 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$153,520 avg · 8,060 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$88,200 avg · 3,340 jobs
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$104,750 avg · 1,240 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$76,420 avg · 1,160 jobs
Computer and Information Research Scientists
$92,800 avg · 720 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Information Science/Studies programs in Indiana.

Which Indiana colleges award the most Information Science/Studies degrees?+

Ivy Tech Community College (428 graduates a year), Indiana Institute of Technology (304 graduates a year) and Ball State University (43 graduates a year) award the most Information Science/Studies degrees and certificates in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Indiana colleges offer Information Science/Studies.

Which Information Science/Studies program in Indiana has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Ivy Tech Community College tops the list at $46,815. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Indiana?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Indiana is $92,800 (median $85,460), across about 720 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Information Science/Studies program?+

The Information Science/Studies program focuses on the creation, organization, management, and use of recorded information. It encompasses various professional activities, including information management, librarianship, and archiving,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card