Indiana · Astronomy and Astrophysics

Best colleges for Astronomy and Astrophysics in Indiana

Ranked by graduates a year

Indiana University - Bloomington, Butler University and Ball State University award the most Astronomy and Astrophysics degrees and certificates in Indiana: 11, 5 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Indiana colleges offer Astronomy and Astrophysics and award 21 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Astronomy and Astrophysics program focuses on the scientific study of celestial objects and phenomena, applying principles from physics and chemistry. This program is designed for students interested in exploring the nature of the…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 40.02
States offered
38
with a program page
Degrees / yr
21
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$35,696
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
73%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Astronomers
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

4 institutions offering Astronomy and Astrophysics in Indiana

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Indiana University - Bloomington
Bloomington Public
—1180%——
2Butler University
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit
—580%$35,696—
3Ball State University
Muncie Public
—462%——
4Valparaiso University
Valparaiso Private not-for-profit
—170%$20,155—

Colleges awarding the most Astronomy and Astrophysics degrees in Indiana

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Indiana University - Bloomington
Bloomington Public
11Not reported
2Butler University
Indianapolis Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
3Ball State University
Muncie Public
4Not reported
4Valparaiso University
Valparaiso Private not-for-profit
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Astronomers (SOC 19-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.2%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$132,170
typically Doctoral or professional degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionScienceWritingMathematicsCritical ThinkingActive Listening

What Astronomers earn in Indiana

Jobs in Indiana
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Physics Teachers, Postsecondary
$107,750 avg · 270 jobs
Physicists
$132,050 avg · 230 jobs
Atmospheric, Earth, Marine, and Space Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary
$100,860 avg · 130 jobs
Astronomers
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Astronomy and Astrophysics programs in Indiana.

Which Indiana colleges award the most Astronomy and Astrophysics degrees?+

Indiana University - Bloomington (11 graduates a year), Butler University (5 graduates a year) and Ball State University (4 graduates a year) award the most Astronomy and Astrophysics degrees and certificates in Indiana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Indiana colleges offer Astronomy and Astrophysics.

What is the focus of the Astronomy and Astrophysics program?+

The Astronomy and Astrophysics program focuses on the scientific study of celestial objects and phenomena, applying principles from physics and chemistry. This program is designed for students interested in exploring the nature of the…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, science, writing, mathematics, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Astronomers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.2% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card