Best colleges for Special Education and Teaching in Idaho
Ranked by graduate earnings
Boise State University, Brigham Young University - Idaho and Idaho State University award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees and certificates in Idaho: 59, 15 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Idaho colleges offer Special Education and Teaching and award 84 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Boise State University Boise Public · Bachelor's degree | $42,303 | 59 | 60% | — | $26,675 |
| 2 | Brigham Young University - Idaho Rexburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $43,252 | 15 | 55% | $6,760 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Special Education and Teaching degrees in Idaho
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Boise State University Boise Public | 59 | $42,303 |
| 2 | Brigham Young University - Idaho Rexburg Private not-for-profit | 15 | $43,252 |
| 3 | Idaho State University Pocatello Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of Idaho Moscow Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 5 | Lewis-Clark State College Lewiston Public | 1 | Not reported |
| 6 | Northwest Nazarene University Nampa Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Special Education Teachers, Preschool (SOC 25-2051).
Top skills
What Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Idaho
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Special Education and Teaching programs in Idaho.
Which Idaho colleges award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees?+
Boise State University (59 graduates a year), Brigham Young University - Idaho (15 graduates a year) and Idaho State University (4 graduates a year) award the most Special Education and Teaching degrees and certificates in Idaho, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Idaho colleges offer Special Education and Teaching.
Which Special Education and Teaching program in Idaho has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Boise State University tops the list at $42,303. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Special Education Teachers, Preschool earn in Idaho?+
The average annual wage for Special Education Teachers, Preschool in Idaho is $54,790 (median $49,610), across about 180 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Special Education and Teaching program?+
The Special Education and Teaching program prepares students to work with individuals who have a range of disabilities and special needs. This program is ideal for those who are passionate about making a difference in the lives of students…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Special Education Teachers, Preschool?+
The national job outlook is about +1.4% growth with around 2,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card