California · Urban Studies/Affairs

Best colleges for Urban Studies/Affairs in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of California-Berkeley, University of California-San Diego and University of California-Irvine are the top bachelor's Urban Studies/Affairs programs in California by graduate earnings. University of California-Berkeley leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $58,171, College Scorecard. University of California-San Diego, University of California-Irvine and University of California-Berkeley award the most Urban Studies/Affairs degrees in California: 59, 54 and 36 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 11 California colleges offer Urban Studies/Affairs and award 256 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Urban Studies/Affairs program is a transdisciplinary field that explores urban settlements and development. It encompasses various subjects, including geography, sociology, and public policy, making it ideal for students interested in…

Institutions
11
offering CIP 45.12
States offered
31
with a program page
Degrees / yr
256
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$46,826
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$36,488
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
77%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Urban and Regional Planners
$116,480
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public · Bachelor's degree
$58,1713693%—$14,444
2University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,0745986%—$17,500
3University of California-Irvine
Irvine Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,3855487%—$15,000
4San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$50,0081250%—$18,600
5California State University - Northridge
Northridge Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$46,8261857%—$13,612

Colleges awarding the most Urban Studies/Affairs degrees in California

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of California-San Diego
La Jolla Public
59$37,074
2University of California-Irvine
Irvine Public
54$34,385
3University of California-Berkeley
Berkeley Public
36$58,171
4University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
5California State University - Northridge
Northridge Public
18$46,826
6San Diego State University
San Diego Public
18Not reported
7San Francisco State University
San Francisco Public
12$50,008
8Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
12Not reported
9San Jose State University
San Jose Public
10Not reported
10University of San Francisco
San Francisco Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
Show the other 1 California colleges offering Urban Studies/Affairs
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Loyola Marymount UniversityLos AngelesPrivate not-for-profit7

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Urban and Regional Planners (SOC 19-3051).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$83,720
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Urban and Regional Planners earn in California

Jobs in California
7,460
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$116,480
median $109,610
Best-paying metro
$141,020
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA

Related careers

Urban and Regional Planners
$116,480 avg · 7,460 jobs
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All Other
$142,870 avg · 2,760 jobs
Sociologists
$123,090 avg · 590 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Urban Studies/Affairs programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Urban Studies/Affairs degrees?+

University of California-San Diego (59 graduates a year), University of California-Irvine (54 graduates a year) and University of California-Berkeley (36 graduates a year) award the most Urban Studies/Affairs degrees in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 11 California colleges offer Urban Studies/Affairs.

What is the best college for Urban Studies/Affairs in California?+

By graduate earnings, University of California-Berkeley leads among bachelor's Urban Studies/Affairs programs in California, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $58,171, College Scorecard. University of California-San Diego and University of California-Irvine follow. By degrees awarded, University of California-San Diego is the largest, with 59 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Urban Studies/Affairs program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of California-Berkeley tops the list at $58,171. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Urban and Regional Planners earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Urban and Regional Planners in California is $116,480 (median $109,610), across about 7,460 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Urban Studies/Affairs program?+

The Urban Studies/Affairs program is a transdisciplinary field that explores urban settlements and development. It encompasses various subjects, including geography, sociology, and public policy, making it ideal for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Urban and Regional Planners?+

The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 3,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card