California · Genetics

Best colleges for Genetics in California

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of California-Davis, Stanford University and University of California-Irvine award the most Genetics degrees and certificates in California: 93, 27 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 California colleges offer Genetics and award 199 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Genetics program focuses on the study of DNA structures and expressions, exploring how these variations contribute to differences among organisms. This field is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical sciences,…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 26.08
States offered
37
with a program page
Degrees / yr
199
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,334
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$26,873
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
83%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Genetic Counselors
$143,090
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of California-Davis
Davis Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,3349386%—$14,293

Colleges awarding the most Genetics degrees in California

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of California-Davis
Davis Public
93$41,334
2Stanford University
Stanford Private not-for-profit
27Not reported
3University of California-Irvine
Irvine Public
8Not reported
4University of California-Los Angeles
Los Angeles Public
7Not reported
5University of Southern California
Los Angeles Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 3 California colleges offering Genetics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Southern California University of Health Sciences (Online)WhittierPrivate not-for-profit48
Keck Graduate Institute (Graduate only)ClaremontPrivate not-for-profit14
University of California-San Francisco (Graduate only)San FranciscoPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Genetic Counselors (SOC 29-9092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.3%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$98,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningCritical ThinkingWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Genetic Counselors earn in California

Jobs in California
440
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$143,090
median $137,650
Best-paying metro
$159,680
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA

Related careers

Biological Scientists, All Other
$123,840 avg · 11,880 jobs
Biological Technicians
$78,170 avg · 9,210 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$146,810 avg · 3,610 jobs
Genetic Counselors
$143,090 avg · 440 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Genetics programs in California.

Which California colleges award the most Genetics degrees?+

University of California-Davis (93 graduates a year), Stanford University (27 graduates a year) and University of California-Irvine (8 graduates a year) award the most Genetics degrees and certificates in California, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 California colleges offer Genetics.

Which Genetics program in California has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of California-Davis tops the list at $41,334. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Genetic Counselors earn in California?+

The average annual wage for Genetic Counselors in California is $143,090 (median $137,650), across about 440 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Genetics program?+

The Genetics program focuses on the study of DNA structures and expressions, exploring how these variations contribute to differences among organisms. This field is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical sciences,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Genetic Counselors?+

The national job outlook is about +9.3% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card