Arkansas · Design and Applied Arts

Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in Arkansas

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Central Arkansas, University of Arkansas and Harding University are the top bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Arkansas by graduate earnings. University of Central Arkansas leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $43,106, College Scorecard. Arkansas Tech University, University of Arkansas and NorthWest Arkansas Community College award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Arkansas: 56, 39 and 39 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 14 Arkansas colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 264 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

Institutions
14
offering CIP 50.04
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
264
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,582
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
7
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,325
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
52%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Graphic Designers
$52,670
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Central Arkansas
Conway Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,1062154%——
2University of Arkansas
Fayetteville Public · Bachelor's degree
$41,7823971%—$23,881
3Harding University
Searcy Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$35,5822069%$19,423—
4John Brown University
Siloam Springs Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$24,8932272%$20,325$20,500
5Arkansas Tech University
Russellville Public · Bachelor's degree
$20,2855649%—$28,950
6Arkansas State University
Jonesboro Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,9701755%——
7Southern Arkansas University Main Campus
Magnolia Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$22,016549%—$25,559

Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Arkansas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Arkansas Tech University
Russellville Public
56$20,285
2University of Arkansas
Fayetteville Public
39$41,782
3NorthWest Arkansas Community College
Bentonville Public
39Not reported
4John Brown University
Siloam Springs Private not-for-profit
22$24,893
5University of Central Arkansas
Conway Public
21$43,106
6Harding University
Searcy Private not-for-profit
20$35,582
7Arkansas State University
Jonesboro Public
17$35,970
8University of Arkansas-Fort Smith
Fort Smith Public
15Not reported
9Ouachita Baptist University
Arkadelphia Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
10Southern Arkansas University Tech
Camden Public
7Not reported
Show the other 4 Arkansas colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Arkansas at Little RockLittle RockPublic5
Southern Arkansas University Main CampusMagnoliaPublic5
Arkansas State University - Mountain HomeMountain HomePublic5
Southeast Arkansas CollegePine BluffPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~20,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,300
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingActive LearningReading Comprehension

What Graphic Designers earn in Arkansas

Jobs in Arkansas
1,390
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$52,670
median $46,220
Best-paying metro
$64,750
Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers, AR

Related careers

Graphic Designers
$52,670 avg · 1,390 jobs
Interior Designers
$80,310 avg · 740 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$76,950 avg · 360 jobs
Art Directors
$82,350 avg · 240 jobs
Photographers
$34,700 avg · 240 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in Arkansas.

Which Arkansas colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+

Arkansas Tech University (56 graduates a year), University of Arkansas (39 graduates a year) and NorthWest Arkansas Community College (39 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Arkansas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 14 Arkansas colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.

What is the best college for Design and Applied Arts in Arkansas?+

By graduate earnings, University of Central Arkansas leads among bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Arkansas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $43,106, College Scorecard. University of Arkansas and Harding University follow. By degrees awarded, Arkansas Tech University is the largest, with 56 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Design and Applied Arts program in Arkansas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Central Arkansas tops the list at $43,106. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Graphic Designers earn in Arkansas?+

The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in Arkansas is $52,670 (median $46,220), across about 1,390 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card